Home Energy Rebates · 50 states plus DC
Home Energy Rebates by state
Where the two federal rebate programs stand in every state, from each state’s own program page as checked on October 12, 2026. HEEHR pays toward electric appliances; HOMES pays toward whole-home upgrades. 10 states plus DC are taking applications for at least one of them.
Where this comes from
DOE no longer publishes a current state-by-state list; its old status map shows “Last updated 04/09/2024.” We checked each state’s own page and compared it with the Building Performance Association’s June 2026 map, a trade-group source. Where they disagree, we report the state’s page: South Dakota and West Virginia differs from the map.
No state page could be checked for Arkansas, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Mississippi, Nebraska, New Hampshire and Ohio, so their status comes from that map and the chip says Unconfirmed. For Arizona and California, the status comes from our metro research, which reached the program’s own site; the state pages explain. Some state pages are themselves out of date, and the state pages note when.
Open 8 states
At least one of the two programs is taking applications.
| State | HEEHR · electric appliances | HOMES · whole-home upgrades |
|---|---|---|
| District of Columbia | Open · limits apply open within existing programs (no stand-alone federal rebate; only through DCSEU's Affordable Home Electrification Program and Affordable Housing Retrofit Accelerator) | Open open within existing programs (AHRA/AHEP), per DOEE |
| Georgia | Paused paused — not accepting new applications; reopening October 2026 with limited measures (single-family only) | Open open |
| Indiana | Open open (applications open per OED) | Open open (applications open per OED) |
| New Mexico | Open open ('The program has begun'; applications via CleanEnergy.nm.gov), income-qualified (below 80% AMI or categorical eligibility) | Open open per ECAM FAQ ('The program has begun'), but HOMES-specific measures and amounts not listed |
| New York | Open open (income-eligible, delivered through EmPower+) | Unconfirmed No status stated on any state page we could check. |
| North Carolina | Open · limits apply open (income-qualified; electric-to-electric only from Sept. 1, 2026) | Open open (income-qualified) |
| Rhode Island | Open · limits apply launched; low-income program plus a moderate-income pilot in 11 municipalities (from May 11, 2026); current post-Sept. 2026 status not stated on OER page | Open open (launched Sept. 23, 2026) for income-eligible multifamily properties with five or more units |
| Wisconsin | Open open (under 150% AMI); since Sept. 1, 2026 no retail post-purchase or instant-discount requests for equipment replacing fossil fuel appliances | Open open (all incomes) |
Open with limits, paused or waitlist 5 states
Some households can apply, or the state has paused its program or opened only a waitlist.
| State | HEEHR · electric appliances | HOMES · whole-home upgrades |
|---|---|---|
| Arizona | Partly open Open with restrictions (HEAR). Efficiency Arizona says 'Applications are still being accepted, but must meet the new program guidelines.' New guidelines took effect September 1, 2026 under a DOE Home Energy Rebates Program Notice: no more gas-to-electric fuel switching, only electric-to-electric replacements. August 28, 2026 was the last day to reserve under the old rules. The program launched in August 2024, was paused at one point 'Due to Federal Grant Funding Uncertainty', then 'restarted ... on a limited basis'. A program announcement 'As of April 30' (year not shown; site footer © 2026) reported 1,076 rebates issued. No HOMES (whole-home) program was found. | Unconfirmed No HOMES (whole-home) program was found. |
| Maine | Open · limits apply open, limited to two initiatives: new construction of affordable multifamily housing, and single-family manufactured (mobile) homes of income-eligible households; Efficiency Maine reviewing DOE's June 1, 2026 notices | Not open yet not launched ('conditionally awarded' but not yet cleared to launch) |
| Michigan | Open · limits apply open for low- and moderate-income households statewide except districts where new income-qualified applications are paused (Detroit since May 2026; Warren Aug. 2026; Grand Rapids, Kalamazoo and Lansing Sept. 2026); HEAR-specific terms after DOE's 2026 guidance not stated | Open · limits apply open for low- and moderate-income households, with the same district pauses for new income-qualified applications |
| Utah | Paused on hold ('on hold until further notice'; DOE has not approved Utah's application) | Paused on hold (same) |
| West Virginia | Waitlist pilot phase with select households; waitlist registration open; statewide launch pending | Waitlist pilot phase with select households; waitlist registration open; statewide launch pending |
Closed 3 states
Launched, then closed to new applicants once the money was reserved.
| State | HEEHR · electric appliances | HOMES · whole-home upgrades |
|---|---|---|
| California | Closed closed to new applicants (waitlist only): HEEHRA Phase I single-family fully reserved statewide since February 24, 2026 and multifamily since September 1, 2026 (per TECH); HEEHRA Phase II not yet available; HOMES not available as rebates (some HOMES funds pay for no-cost EBD Direct Install retrofits in selected low-income communities) | Not open yet not launched ('HOMES rebates are not yet available') |
| Colorado | Closed closed for single-family (launched Nov. 13, 2025; both regions closed Aug. 1-2, 2026 with $0 remaining); small-multifamily HEAR ($13.7 million) not yet available, expected fall 2026 | Not open yet not launched (HER single-family and multifamily expected to launch fall 2026, per CEO FAQ) |
| South Dakota | Not participating not participating (did not apply) | Not participating not participating (did not apply) |
Not launched or unconfirmed 35 states
No rebates yet, or no state page could confirm the status.
| State | HEEHR · electric appliances | HOMES · whole-home upgrades |
|---|---|---|
| Alabama | Not open yet not launched (under development; no date) | Not open yet not launched (under development; no date) |
| Alaska | Not open yet not launched (no estimated launch date) | Not open yet not launched (no estimated launch date) |
| Arkansas | Unconfirmed No status stated on any state page we could check. | Unconfirmed No status stated on any state page we could check. |
| Connecticut | Not open yet not launched (HEAR Blueprints submitted April 2025, under DOE review; DEEP had hoped for a mid-2025 launch) | Not open yet not launched (DEEP hoped for early 2026, contingent on DOE approval) |
| Delaware | Not open yet not launched (state page last updated Oct. 16, 2024 said launch expected once DOE approves; the Building Performance Association's June 2026 map shows not launched) | Not open yet not launched (same) |
| Florida | Not open yet not launched ('expected to launch in the future'; registration of interest open) | Not open yet not launched ('expected to launch in the future') |
| Hawaii | Not open yet not launched (pending DOE approval to launch; expected early 2027) | Not open yet not launched (pending federal funds and DOE approval; timing unknown) |
| Idaho | Not open yet not launched ('rebates are not currently available') | Not open yet not launched ('rebates are not currently available') |
| Illinois | Not open yet not launched (state says its HEAR application has not yet been processed by DOE) | Not open yet not launched (pilot pending DOE approval) |
| Iowa | Not open yet not launched ('these rebates are not yet available'; page outdated) | Not open yet not launched (same) |
| Kansas | Not open yet not launched ('coming soon') | Not open yet not launched ('coming soon') |
| Kentucky | Not open yet not launched (application and plan submission stage; completing documents required by DOE's new guidelines) | Not open yet not launched (same) |
| Louisiana | Unconfirmed No status stated on any state page we could check. | Unconfirmed No status stated on any state page we could check. |
| Maryland | Not open yet not launched (updated application submitted to DOE Sept. 30, 2026) | Not open yet not launched (updated application submitted to DOE Sept. 30, 2026) |
| Massachusetts | Unconfirmed No status stated on any state page we could check. | Unconfirmed No status stated on any state page we could check. |
| Minnesota | Not open yet not launched (awaiting formal DOE approval; no estimated launch date) | Not open yet not launched (awaiting formal DOE approval; no estimated launch date) |
| Mississippi | Unconfirmed No status stated on any state page we could check. | Unconfirmed No status stated on any state page we could check. |
| Missouri | Not open yet not launched (state says rebates may not be available until 2027 at the earliest, possibly 2028) | Not open yet not launched (same timeline) |
| Montana | Not open yet not launched (planning paused February 2025; to resume and resubmit after DOE's revised guidance) | Not open yet not launched (same) |
| Nebraska | Unconfirmed No status stated on any state page we could check. | Unconfirmed No status stated on any state page we could check. |
| Nevada | Not open yet not launched (state page outdated: its 'tentative timeline' still shows rebates opening in 2025) | Not open yet not launched (same) |
| New Hampshire | Unconfirmed No status stated on any state page we could check. | Unconfirmed No status stated on any state page we could check. |
| New Jersey | Not open yet not launched (under development) | Not open yet not launched (under development) |
| North Dakota | Not open yet not launched (awaiting full DOE approval; no estimated launch date) | Not open yet not launched (same) |
| Ohio | Unconfirmed No status stated on any state page we could check. | Unconfirmed No status stated on any state page we could check. |
| Oklahoma | Not open yet not launched (implementer procurement; no timeline) | Not open yet not launched (same) |
| Oregon | Not open yet not launched (no application date; contractor enrollment opens Oct. 12, 2026; awaiting DOE launch approval) | Not open yet not launched (same as HEAR) |
| Pennsylvania | Not open yet not launched (awaiting final DOE approval as of September 2026) | Not open yet not launched (awaiting final DOE approval as of September 2026) |
| South Carolina | Not open yet not launched ('rebates are not yet available'; anticipated availability in 2026) | Not open yet not launched (program still being developed) |
| Tennessee | Not open yet not launched (needs full DOE approval, executed agreement, then contract with TVA) | Not open yet not launched (same) |
| Texas | Not open yet not launched (planning and design phase) | Not open yet not launched (planning and design phase) |
| Vermont | Not open yet not launched; state warned in May 2025 that HEAR funding 'remains in question' and not to plan on it | Unconfirmed not confirmed as launched (page said the IRA-funded weatherization program 'will launch in 2025'; no later update) |
| Virginia | Not open yet not launched (application being updated for DOE's May 29, 2026 Program Notices) | Not open yet not launched |
| Washington | Not open yet not launched (program operation preparation; awaiting DOE approval to launch) | Not open yet not launched (program operation preparation; awaiting DOE approval to launch) |
| Wyoming | Not open yet not launched (page still says WEA 'expects to launch HESP in 2025') | Not open yet not launched (same) |
Not sure where to start?
Tell us your ZIP code, the kind of home you have and what you’re planning. A person reads every message and replies with the certified auditors and utility programs that serve your area.
Sources
- Building Performance Association & AnnDyl Policy Group — State Home Energy Rebate Programs factsheet, June 2026 (trade association, not official) ↗
- Building Performance Association — State Home Energy Rebate Programs factsheet, March 2026 ↗
- DOE — Home Energy Rebates Program page (modified July 8, 2026) ↗
- DOE — former Home Energy Rebates status map page (shows 'Last updated 04/09/2024'; returned HTTP 404 to a direct request on Oct. 12, 2026) ↗
- NC Clean Energy Technology Center — 50 State Analysis: Home Energy Rebate Programs Status (Mar. 26, 2025) ↗