New York · New Jersey · #1 metro by population

Home energy audits in New York City

Where to get a home energy audit in the New York City area, what it costs, which rebates are open now and where New York and New Jersey stand on the federal Home Energy Rebates. Every program links to its official page and was checked on October 12, 2026.

Metro area: New York-Newark-Jersey City, NY-NJ Metropolitan Statistical Area.

A red blower-door panel with a large fan fitted into the front doorway of a brick bungalow, a pressure gauge on a stool inside
Start here Free Home Energy Plan (virtual Home Energy Assessment) · Virtual
Rebates and incentives open now 11 of 11 All the offers in our research are open.
Federal Home Energy Rebates Open What that means here

New York City at a glance

Climate zone 4A

IECC 2021 climate zone for New York County, NY. PNNL ↗

Heating and cooling 4,872 HDD · 1,017 CDD

Heating and cooling degree days, base 65°F, 1991–2020 normals at NEW YORK JFK INTL AP, NY US (USW00094789). NOAA ↗

Homes 1952 median year built

32.8% of occupied homes are owner-occupied. New York city, New York, 2020–2024 ACS 5-year. Census ↗

Radon EPA zone 3

low potential: predicted average below 2 pCi/L (New York County, NY). EPA says not to use the zone to decide whether to test: high levels turn up in all three zones, so test every home. Radon testing guide · EPA ↗

What energy costs here

State Electricity¢ per kWh · July 2026 Natural gas$ per therm · 2025 average Heating oil$ per gallon · week of Oct 5, 2026 Propane$ per gallon · week of Oct 5, 2026
New York 29.9¢ $1.70 $17.58 per thousand cu ft $6.23 $3.67
New Jersey 25.2¢ $1.37 $14.21 per thousand cu ft $6.04 $3.95
  • Electricity: EIA’s average residential price, July 2026 (preliminary; released September 24, 2026). The U.S. average was 18.3¢ per kWh. EIA ↗
  • Natural gas: EIA’s 2025 average residential price per thousand cubic feet, which EIA says includes taxes and delivery, divided by 10.36 therms per thousand cubic feet (EIA’s 2025 average heat content of 1,036 Btu per cubic foot). A full-year average is used because summer months run far higher. EIA ↗
  • Heating oil and propane: EIA’s weekly residential prices, excluding taxes, for the week of October 5, 2026. EIA surveys them only in some states. EIA ↗

Utilities in the New York City area

Utility efficiency programs follow the company that delivers your power or gas, so check your bill before you book anything.

Electric

  • Con Edison (Consolidated Edison Company of New York) Electric delivery in New York City and Westchester County (3.6 million customers, 604-square-mile territory). The Rockaway Peninsula in Queens is served by PSEG Long Island instead. Source ↗
  • PSEG Long Island Nassau and Suffolk counties and the Rockaways (Queens). The site's service selector reads 'I have service in Long Island or The Rockaways, NY'. Source ↗
  • PSE&G (Public Service Electric & Gas) New Jersey side: electric and gas across much of northern and central NJ. Its assessment scheduler lists Bergen, Burlington, Camden, Essex, Gloucester, Hudson, Hunterdon, Mercer, Middlesex, Monmouth, Morris, Ocean, Passaic, Somerset and Union counties. Source ↗
  • JCP&L (Jersey Central Power & Light, FirstEnergy) New Jersey side: one of the four NJ electric distribution utilities listed by the NJ Board of Public Utilities Source ↗
  • Rockland Electric (Orange & Rockland) New Jersey side: one of the four NJ electric distribution utilities listed by the NJ Board of Public Utilities Source ↗

Natural gas

  • Con Edison Natural gas to 1.1 million customers in Manhattan, the Bronx, Queens and Westchester County Source ↗
  • National Grid (downstate NY gas) Brooklyn, Queens and Staten Island. Its NYC rebate paperwork says Rockaway Peninsula residents fall under the Long Island program. The territory statement comes from a 2019 National Grid application form; no current page was found that restates it. Source ↗
  • PSE&G, New Jersey Natural Gas, Elizabethtown Gas New Jersey side gas distribution utilities, as listed by the NJ Board of Public Utilities. South Jersey Gas is also on the BPU list. Town-level gas territories were not checked. Source ↗

Both states have retail choice. In New York, energy service companies (ESCOs) registered with the NY Public Service Commission can sell the electricity or gas supply. Con Edison still delivers it, reads the meter, bills and handles emergencies. In New Jersey, the deregulation law opens the supply portion of the bill to third-party suppliers, and the utility still delivers. Efficiency programs follow the delivery utility, not the supplier. coned.com ↗ nj.gov ↗

How to get a home energy audit in New York City

6 programs in our research, open ones first. Prices are as each program publishes them. If you want a full diagnostic audit outside these programs, look for a certified auditor: how to find one and what audits cost.

Home Energy Plan (virtual Home Energy Assessment)

NYSERDA

Open Open. The page is live with no dates and no pause notice.
Free Virtual

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Who qualifies
Homeowners of one-to-four family homes in New York State. The page states no income or utility-territory limit.
What you get
A virtual assessment that produces a 'comprehensive Home Energy Plan': where the home wastes energy, plus flags for potential health or safety issues
How to book
Online via NYSERDA's 'Get a Virtual Home Energy Assessment' link (navigator.climative.ai/nyserda). For questions, contact your Regional Clean Energy Hub.

EmPower+ comprehensive home energy assessment

NYSERDA

Open Open. 2026 income guidelines are published and the page has no pause or waitlist notice.
Free Income-qualified

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Who qualifies
Income-eligible owners and renters of 1–4 family homes. Household income must be below 80% of State/Area Median Income, or the household must take part in a utility payment assistance program (EmPower+ Income Eligibility Guidelines 2026).
What you get
A 'no-cost comprehensive home energy assessment' with a customized plan. Improvements are then installed by participating contractors at no cost (low income) or 50% cost-share (moderate income), up to the caps listed under rebates.
How to book
Apply through NYSERDA's MyEnergy portal, or by mail with the PDF application, or by calling 866-NYSERDA. Once approved, a contractor is assigned and schedules the assessment.

Whole House Energy Assessment (Home Performance with ENERGY STAR)

PSEG Long Island

Open Open. 2026 income guidelines are posted; no end date is given.
Free

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Who qualifies
'Available to all PSEG Long Island customers, regardless of heat source.' In NYC this means the Rockaways.
What you get
Insulation and draft check, thermal scan, and blower-door test. Rebates follow for recommended upgrades (see rebates).
How to book
Choose a participating contractor, then complete PSEG Long Island's online application

Whole Home Energy Assessment (NJ side)

PSE&G

Open Open. The page says the program is 'subject to change, including termination, without prior notice'.
Free

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Who qualifies
All PSE&G residential gas and/or electric customers in a single-family home or a building with fewer than five units. Limited to one check-up per year per account and residence.
What you get
About a one-hour walk-through by a certified energy adviser (insulation, air leakage, HVAC, lighting, appliances, water heating) and a customized report. No-cost installs may include an ENERGY STAR smart thermostat, LEDs, aerators, showerheads, pipe insulation, advanced power strips, door sweeps and attic hatch insulation.
How to book
Online portal, or by phone: 1-855-846-2895 for Bergen, Burlington, Camden, Gloucester, Hudson, Mercer, Middlesex, Monmouth, Ocean and Passaic counties; 1-855-522-8211 for Essex, Hunterdon, Morris, Somerset and Union

Whole Home Energy Assessment (NJ side)

JCP&L (administered by CLEAResult)

Open
Free

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Who qualifies
JCP&L residential customers who pass the online eligibility check
What you get
In-home energy assessment. JCP&L says over 38,000 customers have saved an average of $250 a year.
How to book
Online in four steps (verify eligibility, request an appointment, add to cart, check out)

Weather Ready (contractor home assessment plus weatherization incentive)

Con Edison

Closed Closed. The program is 'no longer accepting applications.' Westchester incentives now run through NYSERDA Comfort Home, and Con Edison says information on 2027 Residential Weatherization incentives is coming.
Not published

Cost, as published Assessment done by a participating contractor. The page does not state a separate assessment fee.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Who qualifies
Homeowners or renters in single-family or 2–4 family homes heated by Con Edison gas or electricity, or by delivered fuel with Con Edison electric cooling
What you get
Contractor home assessment (1–3 hours; visual inspection and combustion safety checks, plus blower door and infrared if needed), then insulation and air sealing with Con Edison covering up to 50% of cost
How to book
Not currently possible

Rebates and incentives now

11 offers in our research for the New York City metro; 11 are open as of October 12, 2026. Many require the program’s own contractor or an audit first, so read the terms before you buy.

Whole-home upgrades 1 open of 1

Whole Home Energy Solutions (NJ side)

PSE&G and JCP&L (separate utility programs)

Open

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Amount PSE&G: up to $7,500 in rebates plus up to $25,000 in interest-free on-bill repayment (contractors set their own fee for the initial assessment). JCP&L: $2,000 plus $200 for each percentage point of modeled savings above 5%, capped at $7,500 and at 50% of cost, with 0% loans of $2,500–$25,000 repaid on the bill.

Who qualifies Residential customers of the respective utility working with a participating BPI-certified contractor. JCP&L requires at least 5% modeled savings.

Insulation and air sealing 2 open of 2

Comfort Home (insulation and air-sealing packages)

NYSERDA

Open Open. The page is live with no closure notice.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Amount Good package (attic and rim joist): $2,500. Better package (plus walls and floors): $3,000. Windows add-on: $2,000. Repeat participants get $1,000 if their last incentive was within a year, $2,000 if longer. Westchester projects may get an extra $1,000.

Who qualifies Homeowners of one-to-four family homes who pay the System Benefits Charge (SBC) on their electric bill, per the May 2025 fact sheet. Eligibility is checked in the MyEnergy portal. The page does not say whether contractors cover all five boroughs.

Home Performance with ENERGY STAR rebates (insulation, air sealing, duct sealing, windows)

PSEG Long Island

Open

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Amount Insulation $2,500 (market rate), $3,125 (market rate in a Disadvantaged Community), $5,200 (low income and DAC). Air sealing $1,000, $1,250, $2,000. Duct sealing $500, $625, $800. Windows $4, $4, $8 (the unit is footnoted on the page and not shown in the table text).

Who qualifies PSEG Long Island customers, including the Rockaways, using a participating contractor. Insulation requires blower-door-assisted air sealing. Enhanced tiers need income verification: low income is 60% of AMI (e.g., $98,925 for a household of 4 in 2026) and moderate income is 80% of AMI ($131,900 for 4).

Heat pumps 5 open of 5

Clean Heat air-source heat pump incentive (full replacement)

Con Edison (NYS Clean Heat)

Open Open. Offered 'subject to program rules and available funding'; the page gives no end date.

Official page ↗ · verified October 19, 2026

Amount Single-family: $10,000 if the home is weatherized, or $7,000 standard; in a Disadvantaged Community, $11,000 or $8,000. Apartments: $5,000 or $3,500 ($5,500 or $4,000 in a DAC). Keeping the old system with integrated controls pays $2,500 single-family or $1,000 apartment ($4,500 or $2,000 in a DAC). Customers who already got a partial heat pump incentive can get up to $4,000 more (single-family) or $1,500 (apartment) when they remove or disable the fossil fuel system. All incentives are capped at 70% of project cost (85% in a DAC).

Who qualifies Con Edison customers in single-family homes, 2–4 family buildings, or individually owned apartments in 5+ unit buildings. Work must be done by a Clean Heat Participating Contractor and the home must be deemed 'service adequate'.

Geothermal heat pump incentive

Con Edison (NYS Clean Heat)

Open Open. The page gives no dates or funding status.

Official page ↗ · verified October 19, 2026

Amount Whole-building retrofit: $30,000 if the home is weatherized, or $25,000 standard; in a Disadvantaged Community, $40,000 or $35,000. New construction: $15,000 ($20,000 in a DAC). All incentives are capped at 70% of project cost (85% in a DAC). Con Edison's overview page still says 'up to $35,000'.

Who qualifies Con Edison customers working with an approved contractor. The home must be deemed 'service adequate'.

Heat pump water heater instant rebate

Con Edison

Open Open. The $1,500 promotion runs through November 30, 2026, and there is no reimbursement after purchase.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Amount $1,500 instant rebate for purchases September 1 to November 30, 2026; $1,300 outside that window

Who qualifies Active Con Edison electric account holders. The unit must be ENERGY STAR certified, under 120 gallons, and bought in store at a participating Lowe's or Home Depot (coupon from VerifyConEdRebates.com) or through a contractor via a participating distributor.

Whole-house cold-climate heat pump rebate

PSEG Long Island

Open

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Amount Per single-family home (1–4 units): Low Income (<60% AMI) $7,500; Moderate Income (<80% AMI) $5,000; Market Rate in a Disadvantaged Community $5,000; Market Rate $4,000

Who qualifies PSEG Long Island customers using a participating contractor. The system must meet 100–120% of the whole-home heating load (Manual J). Integrated controls are required, or the fossil system must be removed. Equipment must be on the NEEP ccASHP list.

Building Decarbonization heat pump instant rebates (NJ side)

PSE&G

Open Open. Subject to change or termination without notice.

Official page ↗ · verified October 19, 2026

Amount PSE&G's current page advertises 'up to $1,050 in instant savings', plus 'an additional $300 per eligible measure' for low- to moderate-income customers. The amounts PSE&G listed in early October 2026 could not be re-confirmed there: full displacement with a cold-climate ASHP, lesser of $10,000 or 50% of the largest system's project cost (low- to moderate-income customers: lesser of $12,000 or 60%); up to $2,000 for decommissioning, up to $2,000 for re-ducting, and $2,000 for each additional ccASHP needed; dual-fuel projects, lesser of $5,000 or 50% (LMI: $6,000 or 60%), plus up to $1,500 per integrated control (max two); standard HVAC instant rebates of ccASHP $600, ASHP $300/$450 and HPWH $450; 0% on-bill repayment up to $50,000 for decarbonization ($75,000 combined).

Who qualifies PSE&G residential electric customers (or Butler Electric customers with PSE&G gas) who own a 1–4 unit home, through a participating contractor. New construction is excluded. LMI means ≤400% of the Federal Poverty Level, a low/moderate-income census tract, or enrollment in a listed assistance program.

Appliances and equipment 1 open of 1

Appliance Upgrade Program (heat pump clothes dryers, panels, wiring)

NYSERDA (IRA Home Electrification and Appliance Rebate funds, per NYSERDA's Nov 21, 2024 launch release)

Open · limits apply Open. The page is live; the launch release called it 'first-come, first-served'. Program changes under DOE's May 29, 2026 guidance were not mentioned on the page.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Amount Heat pump dryer: 100% of project cost up to $840 (0–80% AMI) or 50% up to $840 (80–150% AMI). Electrical panel: up to $4,000. Electrical wiring: up to $2,500. Same 100%/50% split.

Who qualifies Households up to 150% of Area Median Income. Renters need landlord attestation. Cannot be used at the same time as EmPower+.

Income-qualified offers 1 open of 1

EmPower+ upgrade incentives (including HEAR and Sustainable Futures add-ons)

NYSERDA

Open Open. The page has no pause notice.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Amount Downstate (all five NYC boroughs, Nassau, Suffolk, Westchester): low income gets no-cost improvements up to $14,000 per project; moderate income gets 50% of cost up to $7,000. On top of those caps, the Sustainable Futures Program adds air-source heat pump $10,000, ground-source $10,000, heat pump water heater $5,000, panel box $5,000 and electrical wiring $2,500. HEAR adds air sealing, insulation and ventilation: $1,600.

Who qualifies Households below 80% of State/Area Median Income, or in a utility payment assistance program. Owners and renters of 1–4 family homes.

Financing 1 open of 1

Smart Energy Loan / On-Bill Recovery Loan

NYSERDA (Green Jobs – Green New York)

Open

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Amount $1,500 to $25,000, unsecured, 5-, 10- or 15-year terms. Rates are not stated on the page; use NYSERDA's 'Find Interest Rate' link.

Who qualifies Owners of existing 1–4 family homes. A no-cost energy assessment is required first. On-Bill Recovery requires a participating utility (Con Edison qualifies; PSEG Long Island customers apply through the utility) and estimated savings greater than the loan payment.

Statewide rebate programs and federal options: rebates and programs.

Heat pumps in New York City → What one costs to run against gas here, each heat pump rebate with the equipment rule that decides which models qualify, and the certified systems and brands that suit the climate.

Federal Home Energy Rebates in New York and New Jersey

The two federal rebate programs, HOMES (whole-home efficiency) and the high-efficiency electric home rebates (HEAR, renamed HEEHR in 2026), are run by each state, so availability depends on the state. DOE rewrote the rules effective May 29, 2026 (Program Notice 26-2 ↗): no more federal rebates for switching from gas, oil or propane to electric equipment, and insulation and air sealing come before heating and cooling upgrades unless a home already meets a state-set level.

Status for the New York City metro
Open New York: launched (HEAR). NYSERDA began paying federal Home Electrification and Appliance Rebates through the Appliance Upgrade Program on November 21, 2024, and EmPower+ lists a HEAR cap of $1,600 for air sealing, insulation and ventilation. The status of New York's Home Efficiency Rebates (HOMES) could not be confirmed on any NYSERDA page. New Jersey: not launched. The programs are 'currently in development and are not yet open for applications.' Official page ↗ verified October 12, 2026

Program: NY: Appliance Upgrade Program and HEAR incentives within EmPower+. NJ: Home Efficiency Rebates (HER) and Home Electrification and Appliance Rebates (HEAR), not yet open.

Run by: NY: NYSERDA. NJ: NJ Board of Public Utilities (New Jersey's Clean Energy Program).

New York's federal allocation is $317.4 million ($159M Home Efficiency Rebates, $158.4M HEAR). New Jersey's BPU reported $91,654,709 for HER and $91,307,380 for HEAR, and in January 2025 expected rebates in fall 2025. That launch has not happened: NJ's page says the state is still finalizing implementation blueprints with DOE and gives no date. Nationally, DOE Program Notice 26-2 (effective May 29, 2026) removed rebates for fuel switching (replacing non-electric appliances), required insulation and air sealing before heating and cooling upgrades, and gave launched programs three months to conform. Existing approved reservations may still be honored. None of the NYSERDA pages checked mention these changes.

StateHEAR / HEEHR (electric appliances)HOMES (whole-home efficiency)
New York New York rebate guide
Open open (income-eligible, delivered through EmPower+) Official page ↗ verified October 12, 2026
Unconfirmed No state status found; BPA’s June 2026 map: “Applied & Rebates Available (launched)” Official page ↗ verified October 12, 2026
New Jersey New Jersey rebate guide
Not open yet not launched (under development) Official page ↗ verified October 12, 2026
Not open yet not launched (under development) Official page ↗ verified October 12, 2026

How the programs work: Home Energy Rebates explained · every state’s status.

Help for lower-income households

EmPower+

NYSERDA

Free assessment and no-cost upgrades for households under 80% of State/Area Median Income or in utility payment assistance. Downstate caps are $14,000 for low income and $7,000 (50% cost-share) for moderate income, plus Sustainable Futures heat pump and electrical add-ons. Owners and renters of 1–4 family homes.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Weatherization Assistance Program (WAP), New York

NYS Homes and Community Renewal (HCR), through local subgrantees: community-based nonprofits, community action agencies, counties and local governments

HCR says each of New York State's 62 counties is covered by one or more providers. HCR's consumer page could not be loaded (403 and fetch errors), so the income limits and the specific NYC providers were not verified.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Home Comfort Plus / income-eligible rebates

PSEG Long Island

Enhanced rebates for income-verified households in the Rockaways and on Long Island: ccASHP $7,500 (low income, <60% AMI) or $5,000 (moderate, <80% AMI), and insulation up to $5,200. NYS On-Bill Recovery and Smart Energy loans are also available.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Comfort Partners (NJ side)

NJ Board of Public Utilities with the NJ electric and gas utilities

Free energy assessment and all recommended measures (insulation, air sealing, duct sealing, refrigerator replacement, thermostats, water-heating measures, HVAC maintenance) plus energy education. For NJ households at or below 250% of federal poverty guidelines ($82,500 a year for a family of 4), or receiving TANF, Section 8, SNAP, SSI or GA. The customer must be the utility ratepayer of record, in a building of 14 or fewer individually metered units. Registrations are open on a rolling basis; call 866-378-4345. Homes heated by oil, propane or kerosene are referred to the DCA Office of Weatherization.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Weatherization Assistance Program, New Jersey

NJ Department of Community Affairs (DCA), through county-based local WAP agencies (e.g., La Casa de Don Pedro and United Community Corporation for Essex County; PROCEED for Somerset and Union)

Weatherization and heating-system efficiency help for elderly, handicapped and low-income households; contact the WAP agency serving your county. The 2026 NJ WAP State Plan is posted as a draft, and the page was modified 09/10/2026.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Home Weatherization for Income-Qualified Customers (NJ side)

JCP&L

Free in-home assessment plus up to $14,000 in efficiency upgrades and up to $2,500 in health and safety improvements at no cost. For moderate-income JCP&L customers: household income above 250% and below 400% of federal poverty guidelines, residence in a moderate-income census tract, or NJ SHARES participation. Covers 1–4 unit individually metered homes 5+ years old. Call 800-915-8309, option 2. PSE&G and the NJ gas utilities run parallel moderate-income weatherization programs.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Local energy rules

3 of the 7 rules we found reach ordinary homeowners in some way; they’re listed first.

Affects homeowners

New York 'Truth in Heating' disclosure (Energy Law §17-103)

Who it applies to Ordinary homeowners selling or renting out a residential structure

On a prospective buyer's written request, made before a purchase contract is signed, the seller must provide heating and cooling bills (or a summary) for the past two years or the life of the structure, whichever is shorter, within 15 days. The seller must also give a statement of insulation installed. A landlord whose tenant would pay heating or cooling must provide the bills immediately on request.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

New building or permitted work

NYC Local Law 154 (all-electric new buildings)

Who it applies to New buildings and Alt-CO New Building filings, including 1- and 2-family homes. It does not reach routine equipment replacement in existing homes.

Fossil-fuel combustion is barred in new construction, phased by initial filing date: January 1, 2024 for Group R-3 (1- and 2-family homes) and all occupancies under 7 stories (excluding service hot water); December 31, 2025 for affordable housing under 7 stories; July 2, 2027 for all occupancies including service hot water; December 31, 2027 for affordable housing 7+ stories. Exceptions cover certain uses such as manufacturing, labs, laundromats, hospitals, crematoria, commercial kitchens and emergency power. DOB's page shows no coverage of furnace or boiler replacement in existing homes.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

New building or permitted work

NYC Local Laws 92/94 (green roof or solar) and Local Law 32 (No. 4 oil phase-out)

Who it applies to NYC Accelerator lists both as applying to 'all buildings'. LL92/94 is triggered only by new buildings or major roof replacements. LL32 matters only to buildings burning No. 4 oil.

LL92/94 requires solar PV and/or a green roof on new buildings and on existing buildings undergoing major roof replacement. LL32 prohibits No. 4 heating oil in City buildings from July 1, 2025 and in all buildings from July 1, 2027; DOB stopped issuing or renewing No. 4 oil permits as of June 30, 2024. A homeowner replacing a whole roof deck should confirm LL92/94 applicability with DOB.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Not for ordinary homes

NYC Local Law 97 (building emissions limits)

Who it applies to Large buildings only. Covers buildings over 25,000 gross square feet, two or more buildings on one tax lot together over 50,000 sq ft, or condo buildings under one board together over 50,000 sq ft. Not ordinary 1–4 family homes.

Carbon limits began in 2024 and tighten in 2030. Owners file an annual emissions report by May 1, the first one due May 1, 2025 for 2024 emissions. Rent-regulated and affordable buildings are not exempt but may follow Articles 320/321 alternatives.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Not for ordinary homes

NYC Local Law 84/133 benchmarking and LL33/95 energy grades

Who it applies to Large buildings (over 25,000 gross sq ft, per NYC Accelerator). Garden-style apartments are excluded. Does not affect ordinary homeowners.

Annual energy and water benchmarking through ENERGY STAR Portfolio Manager is due May 1. Covered buildings must post a letter-grade energy label (A–F, N) near each public entrance within 30 days of its October 1 release; failing to post carries a $1,250 fine.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Not for ordinary homes

NYC Local Law 87 (energy audits and retro-commissioning)

Who it applies to Buildings larger than 50,000 gross sq ft. Does not affect ordinary homeowners.

An energy audit and retro-commissioning are required every ten years

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Not for ordinary homes

New Jersey energy and water benchmarking

Who it applies to Commercial buildings over 25,000 sq ft. Single-family homes are not addressed. Does not affect ordinary homeowners.

Owners or operators must benchmark energy and water use annually. The first submissions were due October 1, 2023 for 2022 data.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Notes worth knowing

  • DOE Program Notice 26-2 (effective May 29, 2026) ended federal HEAR/HEEHR rebates for fuel switching and requires insulation and air sealing first.
  • Expect NYSERDA's HEAR components to change.
  • Con Edison's Weather Ready insulation program is closed, with a 2027 weatherization offer announced as 'coming'.

What our research couldn’t confirm

  • The notice covers only the federal HOMES/HEEHR funds; whether any utility or NYSERDA heat pump incentive above draws on those funds was not checked, except where a page says so.
  • The current National Grid downstate (Brooklyn/Queens/Staten Island) residential rebate menu, because the regionalized site would not render NYC-specific offers.
  • NY WAP income limits and NYC providers.
  • Comfort Home contractor coverage inside the five boroughs.
  • The NY HOMES launch status.
  • Gas-utility weatherization in NYC beyond these could not be confirmed.

New York City: common questions

How do I get a home energy audit in New York City?

Start with Home Energy Plan (virtual Home Energy Assessment). Run by: NYSERDA. It’s a virtual assessment. Cost: Free ('no-cost energy assessment'). Who qualifies: Homeowners of one-to-four family homes in New York State. The page states no income or utility-territory limit. How to book: Online via NYSERDA's 'Get a Virtual Home Energy Assessment' link (navigator.climative.ai/nyserda). For questions, contact your Regional Clean Energy Hub. Our research lists 6 audit programs for the New York City metro, checked October 12, 2026; all of them are on this page.

Are the federal Home Energy Rebates available in New York City?

New York: launched (HEAR). NYSERDA began paying federal Home Electrification and Appliance Rebates through the Appliance Upgrade Program on November 21, 2024, and EmPower+ lists a HEAR cap of $1,600 for air sealing, insulation and ventilation. The status of New York's Home Efficiency Rebates (HOMES) could not be confirmed on any NYSERDA page. New Jersey: not launched. The programs are 'currently in development and are not yet open for applications.' Checked October 12, 2026. Nationally, DOE rewrote the rules effective May 29, 2026: federal appliance rebates no longer pay for switching from gas, oil or propane to electric equipment, and homes must get insulation and air sealing before heating and cooling upgrades unless they already meet a state-set level.

Is there help for lower-income households in New York City?

Yes. Programs for income-qualified households in the New York City metro include EmPower+, Weatherization Assistance Program (WAP), New York, Home Comfort Plus / income-eligible rebates, Comfort Partners (NJ side), Weatherization Assistance Program, New Jersey and Home Weatherization for Income-Qualified Customers (NJ side). Each one’s rules and contacts are listed on this page, with a link to its official page.

Which local energy rules affect homeowners in New York City?

One rule reaches ordinary homeowners. New York 'Truth in Heating' disclosure (Energy Law §17-103). Who it applies to: Ordinary homeowners selling or renting out a residential structure. NYC Local Law 154 (all-electric new buildings) and NYC Local Laws 92/94 (green roof or solar) and Local Law 32 (No. 4 oil phase-out) apply only to new buildings or permitted work. 4 other rules apply only to larger buildings.

Can I claim a federal tax credit for an energy audit in New York City?

Not for an audit done in 2026. The federal credit of up to $150 for a home energy audit was part of the Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit (25C), and the IRS says it can’t be claimed for audits paid for or done after December 31, 2025. Public Law 119-21 ended 25C and the Residential Clean Energy Credit (25D) for 2026 work. An audit done in 2025 is claimed on the 2025 return (Form 5695).

Sources

Every source below was opened and checked on October 12, 2026.

Planning upgrades in New York City?

Tell us your ZIP code, the kind of home you have and what you’re planning. A person reads every message and replies with the certified auditors and utility programs that serve your area.

A person replies by email. We don’t sell your details or share them with contractors. See our privacy note.