Washington · #15 metro by population

Home energy audits in Seattle

Where to get a home energy audit in the Seattle area, what it costs, which rebates are open now and where Washington stands on the federal Home Energy Rebates. Every program links to its official page and was checked on October 12, 2026.

Metro area: Seattle-Tacoma-Bellevue, WA Metropolitan Statistical Area.

A red blower-door panel with a large fan fitted into the front doorway of a brick bungalow, a pressure gauge on a stool inside
Start here Free PSE In-Home Energy Assessment
Rebates and incentives open now 10 of 10 All the offers in our research are open.
Federal Home Energy Rebates Not open yet What that means here

Seattle at a glance

Climate zone 4C

IECC 2021 climate zone for King County, WA. PNNL ↗

Heating and cooling 4,376 HDD · 265 CDD

Heating and cooling degree days, base 65°F, 1991–2020 normals at SEATTLE TACOMA INTL AP, WA US (USW00024233). NOAA ↗

Homes 1976 median year built

43.7% of occupied homes are owner-occupied. Seattle city, Washington, 2020–2024 ACS 5-year. Census ↗

Radon EPA zone 3

low potential: predicted average below 2 pCi/L (King County, WA). EPA says not to use the zone to decide whether to test: high levels turn up in all three zones, so test every home. Radon testing guide · EPA ↗

What energy costs here

State Electricity¢ per kWh · July 2026 Natural gas$ per therm · 2025 average Heating oil$ per gallon · week of Oct 5, 2026 Propane$ per gallon · week of Oct 5, 2026
Washington 14.7¢ $1.70 $17.62 per thousand cu ft Not reported Not reported
  • Electricity: EIA’s average residential price, July 2026 (preliminary; released September 24, 2026). The U.S. average was 18.3¢ per kWh. EIA ↗
  • Natural gas: EIA’s 2025 average residential price per thousand cubic feet, which EIA says includes taxes and delivery, divided by 10.36 therms per thousand cubic feet (EIA’s 2025 average heat content of 1,036 Btu per cubic foot). A full-year average is used because summer months run far higher. EIA ↗
  • Heating oil and propane: EIA’s weekly residential prices, excluding taxes, for the week of October 5, 2026. EIA surveys them only in some states. EIA ↗

Utilities in the Seattle area

Utility efficiency programs follow the company that delivers your power or gas, so check your bill before you book anything.

Electric

  • Seattle City Light Community-owned utility serving Seattle and some customers outside city limits (HomeWise notes City Light customers living outside Seattle) Source ↗
  • Puget Sound Energy (PSE) Electricity and natural gas across a 6,000 sq mi service area primarily in the Puget Sound region of Western Washington (1.26 million electric customers) Source ↗
  • Tacoma Power (Tacoma Public Utilities) Tacoma Power customers in the Tacoma area Source ↗
  • Snohomish County PUD Snohomish County Public Utility District No. 1 customers Source ↗

Natural gas

  • Puget Sound Energy (PSE) Nearly 900,000 natural gas customers in Western Washington Source ↗

Seattle homes get electricity from Seattle City Light; PSE provides natural gas within its Western Washington service area. Elsewhere in King, Pierce and Snohomish counties electricity may come from PSE, Tacoma Power or Snohomish PUD, so check your bill.

How to get a home energy audit in Seattle

3 programs in our research, open ones first. Prices are as each program publishes them. If you want a full diagnostic audit outside these programs, look for a certified auditor: how to find one and what audits cost.

PSE In-Home Energy Assessment

Puget Sound Energy

Open
Free

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Who qualifies
Customers with an active PSE electric, gas or combined account in existing single-family homes or attached housing of up to four units sharing a roofline (site-built, manufactured or mobile); not available if the home had a PSE Home Energy Assessment or Home Electrification Assessment in the past five years
What you get
Full walkthrough by a trained PSE Energy Guide (attic, crawlspace and everything in between), a custom report with prioritized recommendations, referrals to PSE Recommended Energy Professionals, and guidance on rebates and bill programs
How to book
PSE's online scheduler; questions to HEA@PSE.franklinenergy.com or 425-523-9228

PSE Online Home Energy Assessment

Puget Sound Energy

Open
Free Online tool

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Who qualifies
PSE customers with a myPSE account
What you get
5-7 minute online questionnaire with personalized insights and savings tips, tracked against usage graphs
How to book
Complete the online assessment in myPSE

Seattle HomeWise Weatherization (energy audit for income-qualified households)

City of Seattle Office of Housing

Open open (no deadline listed)
Free Income-qualified

Cost, as published Free to eligible households

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Who qualifies
Income-qualified homeowners and renters in Seattle city limits (thresholds vary by heating fuel and owner/renter status); income-eligible Seattle City Light customers outside the city with electrically heated homes; renters in 2-4 unit buildings where more than half of tenants qualify
What you get
Comprehensive home energy audit by a certified Property Rehabilitation Specialist, then city-managed contractors install measures such as insulation, duct and air sealing, ductless heat pumps (electric-heated homes), failing water heater replacement, furnace repair/replacement, fans, refrigerators and oil-to-heat-pump conversion
How to book
Apply online through CiviForm or mail the weatherization application to Seattle Office of Housing, PO Box 94725, Seattle, WA 98124-4725; HomeWise team 206-684-0244, Healthyhome@seattle.gov

Rebates and incentives now

10 offers in our research for the Seattle metro; 10 are open as of October 12, 2026. Many require the program’s own contractor or an audit first, so read the terms before you buy.

Insulation and air sealing 1 open of 1

PSE weatherization rebates (insulation, air and duct sealing, windows) and Efficiency Boost

Puget Sound Energy

Open open (rebate amounts are loaded dynamically and were not visible in the page text on 2026-10-12)

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Amount Not published

Who qualifies PSE customers using PSE-approved contractors; PSE says about 50% of its customers qualify for higher Efficiency Boost amounts

Heat pumps 7 open of 7

Seattle Clean Heat Program (oil to heat pump)

Seattle Office of Sustainability and Environment; bonus funded by Washington's state HEAR program (Climate Commitment Act)

Open open; bonus rebates available for installations completed by May 30, 2027

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Amount $2,000 instant rebate when converting from oil heat to a qualified Mitsubishi Electric heat pump through a participating contractor, plus a $4,000 bonus for moderate-income households (81%-150% of area median income, e.g., $116,650-$246,600 for 4 people) - up to $6,000

Who qualifies Seattle households heating with oil; bonus for 81-150% AMI; households below the lower limit may get a free conversion through the Office of Housing; oil tank must be decommissioned per Seattle Fire Department rules

Seattle City Light heat pump water heater rebate

Seattle City Light

Open

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Amount $750 per home via contractor instant discount, $750 instant coupon at Puget Sound-area Home Depot or Lowe's stores, or $750 post-purchase rebate (Tier 3 or 4 NEEA-qualified, ENERGY STAR models)

Who qualifies Seattle City Light residential customers; DIY rebate form due within 93 days of purchase

Seattle City Light heat pump instant contractor discounts

Seattle City Light (through participating distributors)

Open

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Amount Air-source heat pumps under 5.4 tons: SEER2 15.2 with HSPF2 8.1+ $300; HSPF2 8.5+ $400; SEER2 16.0 with HSPF2 9.5+ $600 (instant discount passed through the contractor's bid)

Who qualifies City Light customers using a contractor who buys from a participating distributor; DIY installs not eligible

PSE heat pump rebate (electric resistance to heat pump)

Puget Sound Energy

Open

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Amount $1,500 when replacing electric resistance heat with a qualifying ducted or ductless air-source heat pump; $2,400 for Efficiency Boost (income-qualified) customers

Who qualifies PSE single-family residential electric customers whose primary heat is PSE-supplied electric resistance; must use a PSE Recommended Energy Professional or Trade Ally

PSE heat pump water heater rebate

Puget Sound Energy

Open

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Amount $1,000 for qualifying Tier 3 or Tier 4 heat pump water heaters; $1,100 through Efficiency Boost

Who qualifies PSE electric customers in existing single-family homes (instant via participating retailers or installers, or post-purchase form)

Tacoma Power home heating and cooling rebates

Tacoma Power

Open open; Tacoma Power says program requirements and incentive amounts are 'subject to change without notice'

Official page ↗ · verified October 19, 2026

Amount Heat pumps replacing zonal or electric forced-air heat: ductless $1,000 (up to 4 units) or $650 (5+ units); air-source $1,000; variable-speed $2,000 when replacing an electric forced-air furnace. A variable-speed heat pump replacing non-electric heat or an existing heat pump: $1,000. Homes with existing electric heat can also get 7-year 0% loans up to $20,000. Amounts for insulation, windows, duct sealing and thermostats were not checked.

Who qualifies Tacoma Power customers; heat pumps, insulation, windows, duct sealing and thermostats; income-qualified customers may get deferred loans and rebates. Heat pumps must be AHRI-certified, rated at least HSPF2 7.5 and SEER2 14.3, and installed by a Tacoma Power Participating Contractor (DIY installs are not eligible); ductless units must be in the main area of the home

Snohomish County PUD instant rebates

Snohomish County PUD

Open open; no end date given

Official page ↗ · verified October 19, 2026

Amount Heat pumps, as an instant rebate off the registered contractor's bill: ducted conversion $1,800 (minimum 7.5 HSPF2 / 13.8 SEER2); ducted inverter-driven $2,500 (minimum 8.5 HSPF2 / 13.8 SEER2). Amounts for windows, insulation and water heaters were not checked.

Who qualifies PUD customers working with a PUD-registered contractor (heat pumps, windows, insulation, water heaters); post-purchase rebates for thermostats, heat pump water heaters, washers and dryers within 90 days. Heat pump rebates are for homes where electric heat is the primary heat source: single-family homes, manufactured homes, and units in buildings of up to four attached homes

Income-qualified offers 2 open of 2

PSE Moderate-Income Fuel-Switching Heat Pump Program

Puget Sound Energy

Open

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Amount $4,000 rebate on a heat pump system

Who qualifies Income-qualified PSE customers currently heating with natural gas (eligibility checked by household size, income and county)

Washington State HEAR rebates through local administrators

Washington State Department of Commerce (Climate Commitment Act funds) via local administrators including City of Seattle ($1,616,516 award), King County ($3,775,416), City of Shoreline ($600,000), City of Tacoma ($637,000), Pierce County ($500,000), Energy Smart Eastside, Seattle 2030 District and Spark Northwest

Open operating through local administrators (Commerce awarded $39,323,876 to 40 administrators; page updated September 8, 2026)

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Amount Varies by local administrator; eligible equipment includes heat pumps, induction cooking, heat pump water heaters, heat pump dryers, and panel/wiring upgrades

Who qualifies Households at or below 150% of area median income (plus small businesses and adult family homes); not all administrators serve every group

Statewide rebate programs and federal options: rebates and programs.

Heat pumps in Seattle → What one costs to run against gas here, each heat pump rebate with the equipment rule that decides which models qualify, and the certified systems and brands that suit the climate.

Federal Home Energy Rebates in Washington

The two federal rebate programs, HOMES (whole-home efficiency) and the high-efficiency electric home rebates (HEAR, renamed HEEHR in 2026), are run by each state, so availability depends on the state. DOE rewrote the rules effective May 29, 2026 (Program Notice 26-2 ↗): no more federal rebates for switching from gas, oil or propane to electric equipment, and insulation and air sealing come before heating and cooling upgrades unless a home already meets a state-set level.

Status for the Seattle metro
Not open yet not launched: Commerce says it is 'in the final stage of getting U.S. Department of Energy authorization for program launch'; DOE released updated guidance (program notices 26-1 and 26-2) on June 1 and Commerce is evaluating the changes Official page ↗ verified October 12, 2026

Program: Home Appliance Rebate Program (HARP, Washington's IRA HEAR) and Whole Home Efficiency Rebates (HOMES)

Run by: Washington State Department of Commerce; Guidehouse selected as third-party rebate administrator (announced September 16, 2025)

Rebates will cover electric wiring and panels, insulation, air sealing, ventilation, appliances and heat pumps for households at or below 150% AMI (renters, homeowners and multifamily owners). Rebates are not retroactive; you must be approved before buying. A Qualified Contractor Network is enrolling and training contractors. Separately, the state-funded (Climate Commitment Act) HEAR program is already running through local administrators.

StateHEAR / HEEHR (electric appliances)HOMES (whole-home efficiency)
Washington Washington rebate guide
Not open yet not launched (program operation preparation; awaiting DOE approval to launch) Official page ↗ verified October 12, 2026
Not open yet not launched (program operation preparation; awaiting DOE approval to launch) Official page ↗ verified October 12, 2026

How the programs work: Home Energy Rebates explained · every state’s status.

Help for lower-income households

Weatherization Assistance Program - local agencies

Washington Commerce through local agencies: Seattle Office of Housing (King County within Seattle, 206-684-0244); King County Housing Authority (King County outside Seattle, 206-214-1240); MDC (Pierce County within Tacoma, 253-593-2336); Pierce County Human Services (outside Tacoma, 253-798-4445); Snohomish County Human Services (425-388-7205)

Free insulation, air sealing, ventilation and related repairs for households up to 200% of the federal poverty level, 60% of state median income or 80% of area median income.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Seattle HomeWise Weatherization and free oil-to-electric (Clean Heat) conversions

City of Seattle Office of Housing

Free audit and upgrades (average one-time savings listed as up to $18,000 for weatherization and up to $24,000 for oil-to-electric conversions); renters can participate with landlord agreement (3-year rent covenant for heat pump installs).

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

PSE Efficiency Boost

Puget Sound Energy

Higher rebates for income-qualified customers on heat pumps, insulation, windows, water heaters, appliances and thermostats; PSE says about half its customers qualify.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Seattle Utility Discount Program (as described by OSE)

City of Seattle

Income-qualified households get a 60% discount on electric heating costs if they switch from oil to electric heat, plus 50% off water and sewer.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Washington State HEAR (local administrators)

Washington Commerce and local administrators (City of Seattle, King County, Pierce County, City of Tacoma, City of Shoreline and others)

Rebates for heat pumps and electric appliances for households at or below 150% AMI.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Local energy rules

None of the 3 rules we found reach ordinary homes.

Not for ordinary homes

Seattle Energy Benchmarking (SMC 22.920)

Who it applies to Non-residential and multifamily buildings over 20,000 sq ft. Does not affect single-family homeowners.

Owners track energy performance and report each calendar year's data by June 1 of the following year; data is published.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Not for ordinary homes

Seattle Building Emissions Performance Standard (BEPS)

Who it applies to Non-residential and multifamily buildings over 20,000 sq ft. Does not affect single-family homeowners.

Benchmarking verification and greenhouse gas reports due 2027-2030 depending on size; initial emissions targets 2031-2035; net-zero emissions by 2041-2050.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Not for ordinary homes

Washington Clean Buildings Performance Standard

Who it applies to Large buildings only: Tier 1 covered buildings over 50,000 sq ft; Tier 2 buildings over 20,000 sq ft up to 50,000 sq ft and all multifamily residential buildings over 20,000 sq ft. Not single-family homes.

Tier 1 reporting deadlines June 1, 2026 (over 220,000 sq ft), June 1, 2027 (90,001-220,000) and June 1, 2028 (50,001-90,000); Tier 2 reporting due July 1, 2027.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Notes worth knowing

  • No time-of-sale or rental energy disclosure requirement for single-family homes was found on the Seattle or Washington Commerce pages reviewed.
  • Seattle's Clean Heat page still says federal IRA HEAR rebates 'are not yet available' while promoting a $4,000 bonus funded by the separate state HEAR program, so two different 'HEAR' programs are in play: the state Climate Commitment Act program (running) and the federal IRA program (not launched).
  • Seattle's goal is to transition all remaining oil-heated homes (estimated 8,000-10,000, down from about 18,000 in 2018) by 2030 through rebates and free conversions; this is a program goal, not a mandate stated on the page.

Seattle: common questions

How do I get a home energy audit in Seattle?

Start with PSE In-Home Energy Assessment. Run by: Puget Sound Energy. Cost: Free ('offered at no cost to eligible customers'). Who qualifies: Customers with an active PSE electric, gas or combined account in existing single-family homes or attached housing of up to four units sharing a roofline (site-built, manufactured or mobile); not available if the home had a PSE Home Energy Assessment or Home Electrification Assessment in the past five years. How to book: PSE's online scheduler; questions to HEA@PSE.franklinenergy.com or 425-523-9228. Our research lists 3 audit programs for the Seattle metro, checked October 12, 2026; all of them are on this page.

Are the federal Home Energy Rebates available in Seattle?

Not launched: Commerce says it is 'in the final stage of getting U.S. Department of Energy authorization for program launch'; DOE released updated guidance (program notices 26-1 and 26-2) on June 1 and Commerce is evaluating the changes. Checked October 12, 2026. Nationally, DOE rewrote the rules effective May 29, 2026: federal appliance rebates no longer pay for switching from gas, oil or propane to electric equipment, and homes must get insulation and air sealing before heating and cooling upgrades unless they already meet a state-set level.

Is there help for lower-income households in Seattle?

Yes. Programs for income-qualified households in the Seattle metro include Weatherization Assistance Program - local agencies, Seattle HomeWise Weatherization and free oil-to-electric (Clean Heat) conversions, PSE Efficiency Boost, Seattle Utility Discount Program (as described by OSE) and Washington State HEAR (local administrators). Each one’s rules and contacts are listed on this page, with a link to its official page.

Which local energy rules affect homeowners in Seattle?

No local energy rule in our research applies to ordinary existing homes. 3 rules apply only to larger buildings.

Can I claim a federal tax credit for an energy audit in Seattle?

Not for an audit done in 2026. The federal credit of up to $150 for a home energy audit was part of the Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit (25C), and the IRS says it can’t be claimed for audits paid for or done after December 31, 2025. Public Law 119-21 ended 25C and the Residential Clean Energy Credit (25D) for 2026 work. An audit done in 2025 is claimed on the 2025 return (Form 5695).

Sources

Every source below was opened and checked on October 12, 2026.

Planning upgrades in Seattle?

Tell us your ZIP code, the kind of home you have and what you’re planning. A person reads every message and replies with the certified auditors and utility programs that serve your area.

A person replies by email. We don’t sell your details or share them with contractors. See our privacy note.