California · #18 metro by population

Home energy audits in San Diego

Where to get a home energy audit in the San Diego area, what it costs, which rebates are open now and where California stands on the federal Home Energy Rebates. Every program links to its official page and was checked on October 12, 2026.

Metro area: San Diego-Chula Vista-Carlsbad, CA Metropolitan Statistical Area.

An energy advisor’s kit on a front-hall bench: infrared camera, pressure gauge with tubing, tape measure, headlamp and a floor sketch
Start here Price not published SDREN Home Energy Savings
Rebates and incentives open now 3 of 6 3 closed or fully reserved
Federal Home Energy Rebates Closed What that means here

San Diego at a glance

Climate zone 3B

IECC 2021 climate zone for San Diego County, CA. PNNL ↗

Heating and cooling 990 HDD · 893 CDD

Heating and cooling degree days, base 65°F, 1991–2020 normals at SAN DIEGO LINDBERGH FLD, CA US (USW00023188). NOAA ↗

Homes 1979 median year built

47.3% of occupied homes are owner-occupied. San Diego city, California, 2020–2024 ACS 5-year. Census ↗

Radon EPA zone 3

low potential: predicted average below 2 pCi/L (San Diego County, CA). EPA says not to use the zone to decide whether to test: high levels turn up in all three zones, so test every home. Radon testing guide · EPA ↗

What energy costs here

State Electricity¢ per kWh · July 2026 Natural gas$ per therm · 2025 average Heating oil$ per gallon · week of Oct 5, 2026 Propane$ per gallon · week of Oct 5, 2026
California 33.6¢ $2.12 $22.01 per thousand cu ft Not reported Not reported
  • Electricity: EIA’s average residential price, July 2026 (preliminary; released September 24, 2026). The U.S. average was 18.3¢ per kWh. EIA ↗
  • Natural gas: EIA’s 2025 average residential price per thousand cubic feet, which EIA says includes taxes and delivery, divided by 10.36 therms per thousand cubic feet (EIA’s 2025 average heat content of 1,036 Btu per cubic foot). A full-year average is used because summer months run far higher. EIA ↗
  • Heating oil and propane: EIA’s weekly residential prices, excluding taxes, for the week of October 5, 2026. EIA surveys them only in some states. EIA ↗

Utilities in the San Diego area

Utility efficiency programs follow the company that delivers your power or gas, so check your bill before you book anything.

Electric

  • San Diego Gas & Electric (SDG&E) San Diego and southern Orange counties: 3.7 million people, 4,100 sq mi, 27 cities; delivers electricity and gas and runs IOU programs Source ↗
  • San Diego Community Power (community choice aggregator) Cities of San Diego, Chula Vista, Encinitas, Imperial Beach, La Mesa and National City plus unincorporated San Diego County; its homepage headline (September 24, 2026) says Coronado has formally joined Source ↗
  • Clean Energy Alliance (community choice aggregator) Default provider for Carlsbad, Del Mar, Escondido, Oceanside, San Marcos, Solana Beach and Vista Source ↗

Natural gas

  • San Diego Gas & Electric (SDG&E) Natural gas across its service area (905,000 gas meters) Source ↗

SDG&E delivers electricity and gas across its San Diego County service area; in member cities the power supply comes from San Diego Community Power or Clean Energy Alliance, which add their own limited programs.

How to get a home energy audit in San Diego

3 programs in our research, open ones first. Prices are as each program publishes them. If you want a full diagnostic audit outside these programs, look for a certified auditor: how to find one and what audits cost.

SDREN Home Energy Savings

San Diego Regional Energy Network (administered by San Diego Community Power and the County of San Diego; ratepayer-funded under the CPUC)

Open open (interest list and interest form active)
Price not published

Cost, as published Advice and assessment offered through the program; 'low- to no-cost energy upgrades for eligible homes' and 'some customers qualify for no-cost energy upgrades' (no prices or income limits published)

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Who qualifies
Homeowners and renters (with owner approval) of a detached single-family home, duplex or manufactured/mobile home in San Diego County built before January 1, 2020
What you get
One-on-one bill review with a home energy advisor, a home energy assessment by a qualified contractor, a report of recommended upgrades, and installation of eligible weatherization, water heating, heating/cooling and appliance upgrades (contractor scheduled within one to two weeks for eligible installs)
How to book
Complete the online interest form (SDREN says it responds within two business days) or call 833-205-7384

Equitable Building Decarbonization (EBD) Direct Install - Southern California

County of Los Angeles as Southern Region administrator for the California Energy Commission; supported locally by San Diego Community Power

Open accepting interest forms in select communities; CEC notes early 'rapid start' retrofits included multifamily affordable housing in San Diego
Free Income-qualified

Cost, as published No cost to eligible households

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Who qualifies
Households up to 80% AMI in fossil-fuel-heated homes built before 2020 in initial focus areas; San Diego County focus areas are Chula Vista, El Cajon, Escondido, Oceanside, Ramona and San Marcos/Vista
What you get
Home assessment and no-cost heat pump and/or heat pump water heater with possible insulation, air sealing, duct sealing, induction cooking and panel work
How to book
Interest form at socalebd.org or 1-424-285-6602

Home Energy Score California (statewide)

Bay Area Regional Energy Network (BayREN) and Earth Advantage; funded by PG&E, SDG&E, SoCalGas and SCE ratepayers under the CPUC

Open · limits apply open (statewide program page live; no closing date stated)
Assessor’s price less a $250 rebate

Cost, as published Cost varies by assessor (BayREN says it depends on factors such as location and home size); the program FAQ says customers who get gas and/or electricity from a CCA or investor-owned utility are eligible for a $250 rebate toward it (Berkeley residents excepted because of BESO)

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Who qualifies
California homeowners can hire a certified assessor; the $250 rebate is for customers who receive gas and/or electric service from an investor-owned utility (such as PG&E, SCE, SoCalGas or SDG&E) or a community choice aggregator
What you get
Certified assessor walk-through (most take 45-90 minutes, including attic and crawlspace), a U.S. DOE 1-10 Home Energy Score, a report with energy-use, cost and emissions estimates, and prioritized upgrade recommendations
How to book
Find a certified assessor on homescoreca.org and ask for a score through the HES California program; confirm rebate eligibility and cost with the assessor

Rebates and incentives now

6 offers in our research for the San Diego metro; 3 are open as of October 12, 2026. Many require the program’s own contractor or an audit first, so read the terms before you buy.

Whole-home upgrades 1 open of 1

SDREN Home Energy Savings upgrades

San Diego Regional Energy Network

Open open (interest form)

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Amount Not published: page offers 'low- to no-cost energy upgrades' and 'incentives for additional upgrades'

Who qualifies Single-family, duplex and manufactured homes in San Diego County built before 2020

Heat pumps 1 open of 2

Solana Beach Heat Pump Water Heater Rebate

City of Solana Beach

Open · limits apply open (applications opened January 5, 2026; first come, first served)

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Amount Residents: $500 standard or $1,000 income-qualified for a heat pump water heater, plus $500 for a service panel upgrade; contractors: $500 per HPWH installed (one per address)

Who qualifies Solana Beach residents replacing a gas water heater; water heater permits submitted after January 1, 2026; stackable with other incentives

TECH Clean California single-family heat pump HVAC and heat pump water heater incentives

TECH Clean California (Energy Solutions, under contract with SCE on behalf of California utilities, CPUC oversight)

Closed fully reserved since November 14, 2025; not accepting new reservations

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Amount Not published

Who qualifies California single-family homes through enrolled contractors

Appliances and equipment 0 open of 1

Golden State Rebates (instant retail rebate coupons)

CLEAResult under a contract awarded by SDG&E, supported by PG&E, SoCalGas and SCE

Closed ended: SDG&E's rebates page states 'The Golden State Rebates Program's retail rebate offerings have ended' (goldenstaterebates.com returned 404 on 2026-10-12); some utility and county pages still list it

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Amount Not published

Who qualifies California IOU customers buying qualifying products at participating retailers

Income-qualified offers 0 open of 1

HEEHRA Phase I heat pump rebates (California's IRA Home Electrification and Appliance Rebates)

California Energy Commission, delivered through TECH Clean California

Closed closed to new applicants: single-family rebates fully reserved statewide since February 24, 2026 (unapproved requests waitlisted; no new income verifications); multifamily fully reserved since September 1, 2026 per TECH

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Amount Single-family: up to $8,000 (household income under 80% AMI) or up to $4,000 (80-150% AMI) for a qualifying heat pump HVAC system; multifamily up to $14,000 per unit

Who qualifies Income-qualified owners (or landlords renting to income-qualified households) replacing a non-heat-pump heating system; only through HEEHRA-trained, TECH-certified contractors with a pre-approved reservation

Financing 1 open of 1

GoGreen Home Energy Financing

State of California GoGreen Financing program (the page links to the State Treasurer's residential portal); utilities named do not lend

Open open (page modified October 6, 2026)

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Amount Loan amounts and rates not stated on the page; it advertises below-market rates, extended terms, no property lien, up to 30% of financing for other improvements, and 0% financing for heat pump heating, cooling and water heating in qualifying communities

Who qualifies Owners (and tenants with owner permission) of single-family homes, townhomes, condos, 2-4 unit buildings and manufactured homes on a site-built foundation who are customers of PG&E, SDG&E, SCE, SoCalGas or City of Palo Alto Utilities; customers of other publicly owned utilities 'may finance most measures'

Statewide rebate programs and federal options: rebates and programs.

Heat pumps in San Diego → What one costs to run against gas here, each heat pump rebate with the equipment rule that decides which models qualify, and the certified systems and brands that suit the climate.

Federal Home Energy Rebates in California

The two federal rebate programs, HOMES (whole-home efficiency) and the high-efficiency electric home rebates (HEAR, renamed HEEHR in 2026), are run by each state, so availability depends on the state. DOE rewrote the rules effective May 29, 2026 (Program Notice 26-2 ↗): no more federal rebates for switching from gas, oil or propane to electric equipment, and insulation and air sealing come before heating and cooling upgrades unless a home already meets a state-set level.

Status for the San Diego metro
Closed closed to new applicants (waitlist only): HEEHRA Phase I single-family fully reserved statewide since 2026-02-24 and multifamily since 2026-09-01 (per TECH); HEEHRA Phase II not yet available; HOMES not available as rebates (some HOMES funds pay for no-cost EBD Direct Install retrofits in selected low-income communities) Official page ↗ verified October 12, 2026

Program: HEEHRA (Home Electrification and Appliance Rebates) and HOMES (Home Owner Managing Energy Savings)

Run by: California Energy Commission (HEEHRA Phase I delivered by TECH Clean California; EBD Direct Install run by three regional administrators)

California received $590 million in total for Home Energy Rebates ($290 million HEEHRA awarded June 2024; $291 million HOMES approved January 2025). HEEHRA Phase I paid up to $8,000 (under 80% AMI) or $4,000 (80-150% AMI) toward a heat pump HVAC system through TECH-certified contractors; it launched October 2024, paused February 2025, resumed March 2025, was fully reserved in June 2025, reopened October 2025 and was fully reserved again on February 24, 2026. The HOMES award is split between EBD Direct Install ($130.3 million, no-cost retrofits for low-income households, projects must model at least 20% savings) and a statewide Pay for Performance program ($90.8 million) that has not launched (solicitation concept workshop held August 8, 2025). Note: the CEC Q&A still says multifamily HEEHRA rebates are available, but TECH's incentives page says they were fully reserved as of September 1, 2026.

StateHEAR / HEEHR (electric appliances)HOMES (whole-home efficiency)
California California rebate guide
Closed single-family: fully reserved, waitlist only (since Feb. 24, 2026); multifamily: open while funds last; Phase II not launched Official page ↗ verified October 12, 2026
Not open yet not launched ('HOMES rebates are not yet available') Official page ↗ verified October 12, 2026

How the programs work: Home Energy Rebates explained · every state’s status.

Help for lower-income households

Weatherization Assistance Program / LIHEAP - San Diego County

CSD local providers Metropolitan Area Advisory Committee (MAAC, 619-434-3829) and Campesinos Unidos, Inc. (619-391-9790); SDG&E says LIHEAP is managed by two agencies assigned by ZIP code

Home weatherization, bill payment help and energy-crisis assistance for income-eligible households.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

SDG&E Energy Savings Assistance (ESA)

SDG&E (outreach and assessment contractor Richard Heath & Associates, 1-619-387-4757 or 1-866-597-0597)

No-cost upgrades for renters and owners in single-family or mobile homes (1-4 units) who qualify by public assistance or income (250% of federal poverty guidelines, e.g., $82,500 for 4 people, June 1, 2026-May 31, 2027). 'ESA Basic' (self-certify) covers smart thermostat, low-flow fixtures, LEDs and power strips; 'ESA Basic Plus' (documentation required) can include refrigerator, whole-house fan, furnace repair/replacement, duct sealing, air sealing, attic insulation, heat pump water heater and minor home repair.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

CARE and FERA bill discounts

SDG&E

CARE saves 30% or more on monthly bills; FERA saves 18% on electric bills for qualifying households.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Farmworker housing energy efficiency and solar

La Cooperativa Campesina de California & MAROMA Energy Services (CSD provider for San Diego and Riverside counties), 833-367-5497

Efficiency and weatherization upgrades, rooftop solar and solar water heating for farmworker housing.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Equitable Building Decarbonization Direct Install (Southern California)

County of Los Angeles for the California Energy Commission, supported by San Diego Community Power

No-cost retrofits for households up to 80% AMI in Chula Vista, El Cajon, Escondido, Oceanside, Ramona and San Marcos/Vista focus areas.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Local energy rules

None of the 2 rules we found reach ordinary homes.

Not for ordinary homes

City of San Diego Building Energy Benchmarking Ordinance

Who it applies to Large buildings only: commercial buildings over 50,000 sq ft and multifamily/mixed-use buildings over 50,000 sq ft with 17 or more residential accounts. Does not affect ordinary homeowners.

Owners submit energy data through ENERGY STAR Portfolio Manager by June 1 each year (passed February 2019).

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Not for ordinary homes

California Building Energy Benchmarking Program (AB 802)

Who it applies to Large buildings only: commercial buildings over 50,000 sq ft with no residential utility accounts, and multifamily buildings over 50,000 sq ft with 17 or more utility accounts. Does not affect ordinary homeowners.

Owners report energy use to the California Energy Commission by June 1 every year.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Notes worth knowing

  • SDG&E's rebates page now says Golden State Rebates' retail offerings have ended and lists no other residential efficiency rebates; SDG&E's remaining home-efficiency help is the income-qualified ESA program.
  • San Diego Community Power's rebates page lists program categories (home battery storage, smart-device demand response, EV charging, EBD, SDREN) without amounts or status; its 'For Your Home' rebates are mostly pointers to other programs.
  • The City of San Diego's 'Cost-Saving Energy Standards' page still tells homeowners that TECH Clean California and SDG&E offer heat pump rebates of '$1,000-$4,000+', but TECH single-family incentives have been fully reserved since November 14, 2025.
  • No time-of-sale energy disclosure rule for homes was found on City of San Diego pages reviewed; the city plans to adopt the 2028 California Building Standards Code in early 2029.

San Diego: common questions

How do I get a home energy audit in San Diego?

Start with SDREN Home Energy Savings. Run by: San Diego Regional Energy Network (administered by San Diego Community Power and the County of San Diego; ratepayer-funded under the CPUC). Cost: Advice and assessment offered through the program; 'low- to no-cost energy upgrades for eligible homes' and 'some customers qualify for no-cost energy upgrades' (no prices or income limits published). Who qualifies: Homeowners and renters (with owner approval) of a detached single-family home, duplex or manufactured/mobile home in San Diego County built before January 1, 2020. How to book: Complete the online interest form (SDREN says it responds within two business days) or call 833-205-7384. Our research lists 3 audit programs for the San Diego metro, checked October 12, 2026; all of them are on this page.

Are the federal Home Energy Rebates available in San Diego?

Closed to new applicants (waitlist only): HEEHRA Phase I single-family fully reserved statewide since 2026-02-24 and multifamily since 2026-09-01 (per TECH); HEEHRA Phase II not yet available; HOMES not available as rebates (some HOMES funds pay for no-cost EBD Direct Install retrofits in selected low-income communities). Checked October 12, 2026. Nationally, DOE rewrote the rules effective May 29, 2026: federal appliance rebates no longer pay for switching from gas, oil or propane to electric equipment, and homes must get insulation and air sealing before heating and cooling upgrades unless they already meet a state-set level.

Is there help for lower-income households in San Diego?

Yes. Programs for income-qualified households in the San Diego metro include Weatherization Assistance Program / LIHEAP - San Diego County, SDG&E Energy Savings Assistance (ESA), CARE and FERA bill discounts, Farmworker housing energy efficiency and solar and Equitable Building Decarbonization Direct Install (Southern California). Each one’s rules and contacts are listed on this page, with a link to its official page.

Which local energy rules affect homeowners in San Diego?

No local energy rule in our research applies to ordinary existing homes. 2 rules apply only to larger buildings.

Can I claim a federal tax credit for an energy audit in San Diego?

Not for an audit done in 2026. The federal credit of up to $150 for a home energy audit was part of the Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit (25C), and the IRS says it can’t be claimed for audits paid for or done after December 31, 2025. Public Law 119-21 ended 25C and the Residential Clean Energy Credit (25D) for 2026 work. An audit done in 2025 is claimed on the 2025 return (Form 5695).

Sources

Every source below was opened and checked on October 12, 2026.

Planning upgrades in San Diego?

Tell us your ZIP code, the kind of home you have and what you’re planning. A person reads every message and replies with the certified auditors and utility programs that serve your area.

A person replies by email. We don’t sell your details or share them with contractors. See our privacy note.