Texas · #5 metro by population

Home energy audits in Greater Houston

Where to get a home energy audit in the Greater Houston area, what it costs, which rebates are open now and where Texas stands on the federal Home Energy Rebates. Every program links to its official page and was checked on October 12, 2026.

Metro area: Houston-Pasadena-The Woodlands, TX Metropolitan Statistical Area (CBSA 26420; OMB July 2023 delineation: Austin, Brazoria, Chambers, Fort Bend, Galveston, Harris, Liberty, Montgomery, San Jacinto and Waller counties).

An energy advisor’s kit on a front-hall bench: infrared camera, pressure gauge with tubing, tape measure, headlamp and a floor sketch
Start here Free CenterPoint Energy Agencies in Action (free home energy audit + weatherization) · Income-qualified
Rebates and incentives open now 1 of 7 6 unconfirmed or not open yet
Federal Home Energy Rebates Not open yet What that means here

Greater Houston at a glance

Climate zone 2A

IECC 2021 climate zone for Harris County, TX. PNNL ↗

Heating and cooling 1,266 HDD · 3,288 CDD

Heating and cooling degree days, base 65°F, 1991–2020 normals at HOUSTON INTERCONT AP, TX US (USW00012960). NOAA ↗

Homes 1982 median year built

42.1% of occupied homes are owner-occupied. Houston city, Texas, 2020–2024 ACS 5-year. Census ↗

Radon EPA zone 3

low potential: predicted average below 2 pCi/L (Harris County, TX). EPA says not to use the zone to decide whether to test: high levels turn up in all three zones, so test every home. Radon testing guide · EPA ↗

What energy costs here

State Electricity¢ per kWh · July 2026 Natural gas$ per therm · 2025 average Heating oil$ per gallon · week of Oct 5, 2026 Propane$ per gallon · week of Oct 5, 2026
Texas 15.9¢ $1.87 $19.42 per thousand cu ft Not reported $3.10
  • Electricity: EIA’s average residential price, July 2026 (preliminary; released September 24, 2026). The U.S. average was 18.3¢ per kWh. EIA ↗
  • Natural gas: EIA’s 2025 average residential price per thousand cubic feet, which EIA says includes taxes and delivery, divided by 10.36 therms per thousand cubic feet (EIA’s 2025 average heat content of 1,036 Btu per cubic foot). A full-year average is used because summer months run far higher. EIA ↗
  • Heating oil and propane: EIA’s weekly residential prices, excluding taxes, for the week of October 5, 2026. EIA surveys them only in some states. EIA ↗

Utilities in the Greater Houston area

Utility efficiency programs follow the company that delivers your power or gas, so check your bill before you book anything.

Electric

  • CenterPoint Energy Houston Electric Regulated transmission and distribution utility (wires company) for the Greater Houston area. Its delivery charges are billed through competitive retailers. It runs the PUCT-required residential efficiency programs in its Houston Electric service territory, paying incentives through participating contractors and agencies. Source ↗
  • Retail electric providers (REPs), chosen by the customer Households in CenterPoint's area buy electricity from a competitive retailer; offers are compared on Power to Choose, the PUCT's official electric choice site. CenterPoint's 2025 Energy Efficiency Plan describes a REP program in which participating REPs market CenterPoint's CoolSaver A/C tune-ups and the 'Efficiency Connection' online marketplace to their customers. Source ↗
  • Texas-New Mexico Power (TNMP) Another wires utility with a Texas Gulf Coast service area. Its service-area page shows only a map, so the specific Houston-area cities could not be confirmed. TNMP runs its own Residential and Hard-to-Reach Standard Offer Programs with a 2026 program manual. Source ↗

Natural gas

  • CenterPoint Energy (natural gas, Texas divisions) Natural gas distribution in its Houston, Beaumont/East Texas, Texas Coast and South Texas divisions. Rates are regulated by the Railroad Commission of Texas. Source ↗

Retail electric choice applies across CenterPoint Houston Electric's territory. CenterPoint delivers power and runs the efficiency programs; REPs sell the electricity. CenterPoint's incentives go to participating contractors and service providers, who apply them to the homeowner's invoice. Its solar page states 'This is not a direct-to-customer program', and its insulation page says 'The rebate is given to the contractor who may extend savings to you on your bill.' No CenterPoint residential natural-gas rebate program for Texas customers was found on CenterPoint's current site (sitemap reviewed 2026-10-12); its gas appliance rebate pages are for Minnesota and Indiana customers. Parts of the 10-county MSA are served by other utilities (TNMP, and in outer counties possibly non-choice utilities or co-ops); those were not researched in detail.

How to get a home energy audit in Greater Houston

2 programs in our research, open ones first. Prices are as each program publishes them. If you want a full diagnostic audit outside these programs, look for a certified auditor: how to find one and what audits cost.

CenterPoint Energy Agencies in Action (free home energy audit + weatherization)

CenterPoint Energy Houston Electric (Targeted Low-Income Market Transformation Program), delivered by local agencies and energy service companies

Open Open: the page carries an active application form. No 2026 funding-exhausted notice appeared on 2026-10-12.
Free Income-qualified

Cost, as published Free: 'All energy audits and approved installations are 100% free for qualified residents.'

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Who qualifies
Residential customers in CenterPoint's Houston Electric service territory, living in a home at least 16 years old, who meet the income-eligibility guidelines. The page also lists receiving benefits such as SNAP, Medicare or Supplemental Security Income. Renters can take part with landlord permission. Homes with foundation, plumbing or significant sheetrock damage must fix those first. CenterPoint's 2025 plan describes eligibility as household income under 200% of federal poverty guidelines.
What you get
A trained professional does an in-home energy audit (air leaks, insulation levels, safety issues). An approved provider then installs the recommended upgrades at no cost: air sealing, HVAC tune-ups or upgrades, water heater pipe insulation, LED lighting, solar screens for south- and west-facing windows, low-flow showerheads, and ceiling or wall insulation. CenterPoint's 2025 plan says the audit uses DOE's NEAT tool and caps spending at $8,250 per home.
How to book
Apply via the application form on CenterPoint's Agencies in Action page, or contact a participating agency directly: Chinese Community Center, Love Network of Baytown, Peoples United Summit, Premier Center, Rebuilding Together Houston, Sustainable Services, Tejano Center, VN Teamwork.

BakerRipley Weatherization Assistance Program (Harris County)

BakerRipley (TDHCA's WAP subrecipient for Harris County), funded by DOE and HHS

Unconfirmed Applications requested through the page; the page states no waitlist or closure. Separately, BakerRipley's Utility Assistance program shows 'Applications are currently closed.'
Free Income-qualified

Cost, as published Free: 'our services are FREE for qualifying households.'

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Who qualifies
Harris County residents meeting HHS income guidelines. Applicants need 30 days of income proof for all members 18+, ID for every household member, federal-benefit eligibility documents (e.g., U.S. passport, birth certificate, naturalization or permanent resident card), and current electric and gas bills.
What you get
Sealing around doors, windows and HVAC ducts; replacement of select appliances with ENERGY STAR models; LED bulbs; low-flow showerheads and faucets; attic and wall insulation; solar screens. Under TDHCA's statewide WAP design, work follows an energy audit.
How to book
Use BakerRipley's 'Request an Application' link, or contact the United Way of Greater Houston 211 Texas / United Way HELPLINE.

Rebates and incentives now

7 offers in our research for the Greater Houston metro; 1 is open as of October 12, 2026. Many require the program’s own contractor or an audit first, so read the terms before you buy.

Insulation and air sealing 0 open of 1

CenterPoint Ceiling and Attic Insulation Incentives

CenterPoint Energy Houston Electric, through approved insulation contractors

Unconfirmed Not stated; no funding notice on the page.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Amount Not stated. 'The rebate is given to the contractor who may extend savings to you on your bill.'

Who qualifies Existing homes in the Greater Houston area with insufficient insulation. Newly constructed homes are not eligible.

Heat pumps 0 open of 2

CenterPoint HVAC System Replacement Incentives

CenterPoint Energy Houston Electric, through participating HVAC contractors

Unconfirmed Not stated. The page shows no funding or closure notice.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Amount 'CenterPoint offers incentives that start at $200 and may increase, depending on your installation.' Applied directly to the installation invoice.

Who qualifies Homes in CenterPoint's Houston Electric territory installing central A/C, heat pumps or mini-splits rated 15.2 SEER2 or higher (Texas minimum is 14.0 SEER2), installed by a participating contractor.

CenterPoint Heat Pump Water Heater Incentive

CenterPoint Energy Houston Electric, through approved plumbing professionals

Unconfirmed Not stated; contact CenterPoint for a list of approved plumbers.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Amount Not stated: 'Incentives can vary depending on selected equipment.'

Who qualifies Customers in CenterPoint's Houston electric territory (excluding apartments) who replace an existing residential electric storage water heater with a new ENERGY STAR certified heat pump water heater.

Appliances and equipment 0 open of 1

CenterPoint Variable Speed Pool Pump program

CenterPoint Energy, through participating independent contractors

Unconfirmed Not stated.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Amount Not stated; the page refers customers to CenterPoint for the list of participating contractors.

Who qualifies Pool owners; the page does not spell out eligibility.

Income-qualified offers 1 open of 1

City of Houston Home Repair programs (HCD)

City of Houston Housing and Community Development Department

Partly open Mostly closed or paused. The general Home Repair Program has exhausted its funding and new applicant files are not being reviewed. Single-Family Home Repair is closed. Winter Storm Uri (DR21) applications are 'temporarily paused.' DR24 (derecho/Beryl) Phase 1 is closing, with no new applications 'until further notice.' Programs are suspended inside the Fifth Ward/Kashmere Gardens UPRR sampling zone.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Amount Repairs can include roofing, HVAC, windows and doors. DR24 tiers: emergency/minor under $50,000; moderate/substantial rehab $50,000.01–$80,000; gut rehab $80,000.01–$200,000; reconstruction $80,000.01–$250,000.

Who qualifies City of Houston homeowner-occupants at or below 80% AMI, with taxes current and the home outside the floodway. Priority for seniors 62+, families with children and people with disabilities.

Other incentives 0 open of 2

CenterPoint ComfortCheck A/C Tune-Up Program

CenterPoint Energy Houston Electric (independent certified technicians)

Unconfirmed Enrollment link ('Enroll Today') live on 2026-10-12; no dates or funding status stated.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Amount Not stated on the current page. CenterPoint's 2025 Energy Efficiency Plan says the program 'pays incentives to the A/C contractor to reduce the customer's upfront cost of system diagnosis and correction.'

Who qualifies Residential customers in the Houston Electric service area (excluding apartments) with a central A/C or heat pump at least one year old and working, and no A/C tune-up through the program in the past five years.

CenterPoint Residential Solar Program

CenterPoint Energy Houston Electric, through participating solar service providers (PUCT-approved efficiency funding)

Unconfirmed Not stated; no funding notice on the page.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Amount $135/kW of rated DC system size, capped at 15 kW. Applied as a credit on the installation invoice.

Who qualifies Existing single-family homes in the Houston Electric territory. New construction and homes with existing PV are not eligible. An interconnection agreement with CenterPoint is required.

Statewide rebate programs and federal options: rebates and programs.

Heat pumps in Greater Houston → What one costs to run against gas here, each heat pump rebate with the equipment rule that decides which models qualify, and the certified systems and brands that suit the climate.

Federal Home Energy Rebates in Texas

The two federal rebate programs, HOMES (whole-home efficiency) and the high-efficiency electric home rebates (HEAR, renamed HEEHR in 2026), are run by each state, so availability depends on the state. DOE rewrote the rules effective May 29, 2026 (Program Notice 26-2 ↗): no more federal rebates for switching from gas, oil or propane to electric equipment, and insulation and air sealing come before heating and cooling upgrades unless a home already meets a state-set level.

Status for the Greater Houston metro
Not open yet Not launched. SECO says 'Rebates are not currently available.' The programs are being designed in fall 2026, and 'A launch date has not been set and will depend on DOE approval of the final program design.' Official page ↗ verified October 12, 2026

Program: Texas HOMES and HEAR Rebate programs (Home Efficiency Rebates, HOMES; Home Electrification and Appliance Rebates, HEAR)

Run by: Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts, State Energy Conservation Office (SECO). Implementer: APTIM Federal Services, LLC, hired April 2026.

$690 million DOE allocation. HOMES will be open to all incomes; HEAR is limited to households below 150% of AMI (low <80%, moderate 80–150%). Amounts are not set, and HOMES levels are under DOE review. Projects finished before launch are unlikely to qualify. Funds must be spent by Sept 30, 2031.

StateHEAR / HEEHR (electric appliances)HOMES (whole-home efficiency)
Texas Texas rebate guide
Not open yet not launched (planning and design phase) Official page ↗ verified October 12, 2026
Not open yet not launched (planning and design phase) Official page ↗ verified October 12, 2026

How the programs work: Home Energy Rebates explained · every state’s status.

Help for lower-income households

Weatherization Assistance Program, Harris County

BakerRipley

Free DOE/HHS-funded weatherization for income-eligible Harris County residents: sealing, insulation, solar screens, ENERGY STAR appliance replacement, LEDs, low-flow fixtures. Apply via BakerRipley's application request or 211/United Way HELPLINE. BakerRipley is also TDHCA's CEAP (bill assistance) provider for Harris, Brazoria and Galveston counties.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

CenterPoint Agencies in Action

CenterPoint Energy Houston Electric with local agencies

Free audit plus free weatherization upgrades (up to $8,250 per home per CenterPoint's 2025 plan) for income-eligible customers in homes 16+ years old in the Houston Electric territory.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

CenterPoint Hard-to-Reach Standard Offer Program

CenterPoint Energy Houston Electric, through registered project sponsors (contractors)

Contractor-delivered incentives for HVAC replacement, duct sealing, weatherization, ceiling insulation, water-saving measures and ENERGY STAR windows for customers with household income below 200% of federal poverty guidelines. Described in CenterPoint's 2025 Energy Efficiency Plan and Report (PUCT Project 57468), which says no additional programs were planned for 2026. Current-year status was not published on a customer page.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

WAP providers for the rest of the Houston MSA

TDHCA subrecipients (list updated 2/2/2026)

Fort Bend and Austin counties: Combined Community Action, Inc. Montgomery and Waller: Brazos Valley Community Action Programs. Brazoria: Crossroads Community Action. Galveston, Liberty, Chambers and San Jacinto: Greater East Texas Community Action Program (GETCAP).

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

City of Houston Home Repair

City of Houston Housing and Community Development Department

Repairs for homeowners at or below 80% AMI (roof, HVAC, windows/doors and more). Funding is currently exhausted or applications paused for nearly all tracks. Questions: 832-394-6200 or homerepair@houstontx.gov.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Local energy rules

None of the 1 rule we found reaches ordinary homes.

No local mandate found

No energy audit, disclosure-at-sale or benchmarking mandate for private buildings in Houston

Who it applies to Not applicable to homeowners.

No City of Houston requirement for home energy audits, disclosure at sale or private-building benchmarking was found. ACEEE's State & Local Policy Database (non-government source, sections last updated Sept 2023 to Feb 2024) reports only a voluntary commercial benchmarking program run with Better Buildings. It also notes a 2022 Municipal Building Decarbonization and Benchmarking Policy that 'applies to municipal and city-operated buildings.' Ordinary homeowners have no audit or disclosure obligation.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Notes worth knowing

  • Texas HOMES/HEAR rebates have not launched.
  • The A/C tune-up is now branded 'ComfortCheck'; CenterPoint's 2025 plan calls it CoolSaver.
  • CenterPoint's High Efficiency Homes program pays builders for new ENERGY STAR or above-code homes, which matters to buyers of new homes, not to existing homeowners.

What our research couldn’t confirm

  • Current 2026 funding levels for CenterPoint programs (the 2026 Energy Efficiency Plan filing was not located).
  • Any Texas natural-gas efficiency rebates from CenterPoint.
  • Exactly which Houston-area cities TNMP serves.
  • WAP waitlist length at BakerRipley.

Greater Houston: common questions

How do I get a home energy audit in Greater Houston?

Start with CenterPoint Energy Agencies in Action (free home energy audit + weatherization). Run by: CenterPoint Energy Houston Electric (Targeted Low-Income Market Transformation Program), delivered by local agencies and energy service companies. It’s for income-qualified households. Cost: Free: 'All energy audits and approved installations are 100% free for qualified residents.' Who qualifies: Residential customers in CenterPoint's Houston Electric service territory, living in a home at least 16 years old, who meet the income-eligibility guidelines. The page also lists receiving benefits such as SNAP, Medicare or Supplemental Security Income. Renters can take part with landlord permission. Homes with foundation, plumbing or significant sheetrock damage must fix those first. CenterPoint's 2025 plan describes eligibility as household income under 200% of federal poverty guidelines. How to book: Apply via the application form on CenterPoint's Agencies in Action page, or contact a participating agency directly: Chinese Community Center, Love Network of Baytown, Peoples United Summit, Premier Center, Rebuilding Together Houston, Sustainable Services, Tejano Center, VN Teamwork. Our research lists 2 audit programs for the Greater Houston metro, checked October 12, 2026; all of them are on this page.

Are the federal Home Energy Rebates available in Greater Houston?

Not launched. SECO says 'Rebates are not currently available.' The programs are being designed in fall 2026, and 'A launch date has not been set and will depend on DOE approval of the final program design.' Checked October 12, 2026. Nationally, DOE rewrote the rules effective May 29, 2026: federal appliance rebates no longer pay for switching from gas, oil or propane to electric equipment, and homes must get insulation and air sealing before heating and cooling upgrades unless they already meet a state-set level.

Is there help for lower-income households in Greater Houston?

Yes. Programs for income-qualified households in the Greater Houston metro include Weatherization Assistance Program, Harris County, CenterPoint Agencies in Action, CenterPoint Hard-to-Reach Standard Offer Program, WAP providers for the rest of the Houston MSA and City of Houston Home Repair. Each one’s rules and contacts are listed on this page, with a link to its official page.

Which local energy rules affect homeowners in Greater Houston?

No local energy rule in our research applies to ordinary existing homes. No energy audit, disclosure-at-sale or benchmarking mandate for private buildings in Houston.

Can I claim a federal tax credit for an energy audit in Greater Houston?

Not for an audit done in 2026. The federal credit of up to $150 for a home energy audit was part of the Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit (25C), and the IRS says it can’t be claimed for audits paid for or done after December 31, 2025. Public Law 119-21 ended 25C and the Residential Clean Energy Credit (25D) for 2026 work. An audit done in 2025 is claimed on the 2025 return (Form 5695).

Sources

Every source below was opened and checked on October 12, 2026.

Planning upgrades in Greater Houston?

Tell us your ZIP code, the kind of home you have and what you’re planning. A person reads every message and replies with the certified auditors and utility programs that serve your area.

A person replies by email. We don’t sell your details or share them with contractors. See our privacy note.