District of Columbia · Virginia · Maryland · West Virginia · #7 metro by population

Home energy audits in Washington, DC

Where to get a home energy audit in the Washington, DC area, what it costs, which rebates are open now and where District of Columbia, Virginia, Maryland and West Virginia stand on the federal Home Energy Rebates. Every program links to its official page and was checked on October 12, 2026.

Metro area: Washington-Arlington-Alexandria, DC-VA-MD-WV Metropolitan Statistical Area.

An energy advisor’s kit on a front-hall bench: infrared camera, pressure gauge with tubing, tape measure, headlamp and a floor sketch
Start here Free Online Home Energy Profile (DC, MD, VA gas customers) · Online tool
Rebates and incentives open now 7 of 7 All the offers in our research are open.
Federal Home Energy Rebates Open · limits apply What that means here

Washington, DC at a glance

Climate zone 4A

IECC 2021 climate zone for District of Columbia, DC. PNNL ↗

Heating and cooling 3,769 HDD · 1,738 CDD

Heating and cooling degree days, base 65°F, 1991–2020 normals at WASHINGTON REAGAN AP, VA US (USW00013743). NOAA ↗

Homes 1958 median year built

41.5% of occupied homes are owner-occupied. Washington city, District of Columbia, 2020–2024 ACS 5-year. Census ↗

Radon EPA zone 3

low potential: predicted average below 2 pCi/L (District of Columbia, DC). EPA says not to use the zone to decide whether to test: high levels turn up in all three zones, so test every home. Radon testing guide · EPA ↗

What energy costs here

State Electricity¢ per kWh · July 2026 Natural gas$ per therm · 2025 average Heating oil$ per gallon · week of Oct 5, 2026 Propane$ per gallon · week of Oct 5, 2026
District of Columbia 25.2¢ $1.61 $16.68 per thousand cu ft Not reported Not reported
Virginia 17.6¢ $1.62 $16.79 per thousand cu ft $5.95 $3.68
Maryland 21.4¢ $1.56* $16.14 per thousand cu ft $6.11 $3.80
West Virginia 15.8¢ $1.33 $13.80 per thousand cu ft Not reported Not reported
  • Electricity: EIA’s average residential price, July 2026 (preliminary; released September 24, 2026). The U.S. average was 18.3¢ per kWh. EIA ↗
  • Natural gas: EIA’s 2025 average residential price per thousand cubic feet, which EIA says includes taxes and delivery, divided by 10.36 therms per thousand cubic feet (EIA’s 2025 average heat content of 1,036 Btu per cubic foot). A full-year average is used because summer months run far higher. EIA ↗ *Maryland: 2024 average; EIA published no 2025 average.
  • Heating oil and propane: EIA’s weekly residential prices, excluding taxes, for the week of October 5, 2026. EIA surveys them only in some states. EIA ↗

Utilities in the Washington, DC area

Utility efficiency programs follow the company that delivers your power or gas, so check your bill before you book anything.

Electric

  • Pepco (Potomac Electric Power Company, an Exelon company) District of Columbia (regulated by the DC PSC, which has a pending Pepco multiyear rate case) and Pepco's Maryland customers in the suburbs, who get EmPOWER Maryland programs. Exact Maryland county coverage was not verified. Source ↗
  • Dominion Energy Virginia Virginia service territory, including Northern Virginia suburbs. County-level coverage was not verified; other NoVA areas are served by cooperatives that were not researched. Source ↗
  • Other Maryland EmPOWER electric utilities (Potomac Edison/FirstEnergy, SMECO) Some Maryland parts of the MSA. Which counties they serve was not verified. The MEA lists SMECO among EmPOWER utilities, and DHCD lists FirstEnergy and SMECO as participating companies. Source ↗

Natural gas

  • Washington Gas (WGL) Natural gas in DC, Maryland and Virginia. It runs separate efficiency offers by state. Source ↗

DC and Maryland have retail choice. The DC PSC runs 'Choose an Energy Supplier', and the MD PSC runs Electric Choice and Gas Choice supplier portals. Virginia retail choice was not researched. In DC, efficiency programs are run by the DC Sustainable Energy Utility (DCSEU) under contract with DOEE, not by Pepco. In Maryland, they run through utilities under EmPOWER Maryland. dcpsc.org ↗ psc.maryland.gov ↗ doee.dc.gov ↗

How to get a home energy audit in Washington, DC

5 programs in our research, open ones first. Prices are as each program publishes them. If you want a full diagnostic audit outside these programs, look for a certified auditor: how to find one and what audits cost.

Free one-on-one home energy coaching (Electrify DC)

Electrify DC, promoted by DC DOEE

Open
Free Coaching

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Who qualifies
District homeowners
What you get
One-on-one coaching or events to 'ask specific questions about their home energy audit or energy upgrade'. This is coaching, not an on-site diagnostic audit.
How to book
Sign up at electrifydc.org/get-help/ or register for an Electrify DC event

Quick Home Energy Check-up (Maryland suburbs)

Pepco (EmPOWER Maryland)

Open Open but winding down. 'Pepco is awaiting a decision by the Maryland Public Service Commission about extending our energy efficiency programs into 2027. The last day to request a QHEC appointment for 2026 will be on November 06, 2026.'
Free

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Who qualifies
Pepco Maryland residential customers, once every 5 years per address
What you get
About an hour-long walk-through by a certified Energy Analyst (insulation, air leakage, HVAC, windows and doors, lighting, water heating). It may include no-cost installs (LEDs, showerheads, aerators, smart power strips, weatherstripping, possibly a smart thermostat) and a customized report. A virtual option is offered.
How to book
Request online or call 866-353-5798

Home Energy Evaluation (Virginia suburbs)

Dominion Energy Virginia, through participating contractors

Open Open. The assessment price is not stated on the page.
Not published

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Who qualifies
Dominion Energy Virginia residential customers
What you get
An in-home energy assessment to identify savings. Dominion reports participants saved an average of $538 on upgrades and 1,325 kWh a year. An online questionnaire option ships a no-cost kit of efficiency products.
How to book
Schedule with a participating contractor from Dominion's save-energy page

Online Home Energy Profile (DC, MD, VA gas customers)

Washington Gas

Open
Free Online tool

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Who qualifies
Washington Gas residential customers
What you get
An online survey with energy-saving education. Customers may get a free Energy Conservation Kit depending on their answers.
How to book
Online via Washington Gas

Home Performance with ENERGY STAR assessment (Maryland suburbs)

Pepco (EmPOWER Maryland), through Participating Contractors

Open · limits apply Open. The limited-time electrification offer requires contractors to reserve rebates by December 31, 2026, and the 2027 program extension is pending at the MD PSC.
$100 (homes up to 3,000 sq ft)

Cost, as published $100 ('a $400 value') for homes up to 3,000 sq ft with a single combustion appliance zone; larger or multi-zone homes may cost more. No cost for qualifying moderate-income customers.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Who qualifies
Active Pepco Maryland residential electric account holders in a single-family residence (not a condo or apartment), once every 5 years per address
What you get
Comprehensive evaluation (air sealing and insulation, HVAC and more) with a customized report, leading to rebates (see rebates)
How to book
Request an assessment or pick a Participating Contractor on Pepco's site

Rebates and incentives now

7 offers in our research for the Washington, DC metro; 7 are open as of October 12, 2026. Many require the program’s own contractor or an audit first, so read the terms before you buy.

Whole-home upgrades 1 open of 1

Home Performance with ENERGY STAR rebates (Maryland suburbs)

Pepco (EmPOWER Maryland)

Open · limits apply Open. Contractors must reserve rebates by December 31, 2026, with work done within 90 days of reservation approval. Continuation into 2027 is pending at the MD PSC.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Amount Up to $10,000 for eligible upgrades, and up to $15,000 for eligible electrification upgrades. A 'New Limited Time Offer' gives larger rebates when the project converts fossil-fueled water heating and/or HVAC to electric.

Who qualifies Pepco Maryland single-family residential customers who complete the assessment

Heat pumps 1 open of 1

DCSEU Residential Electrification Rebates

DC Sustainable Energy Utility (locally funded, not the federal DOE rebates)

Open Open for FY2027: 'Offer is valid on technologies installed after 10/1/2026'. 'Rebates for products installed after 09/30/27 are subject to change.' The page also still says documents must be 'postmarked by 09/30/26', which appears to be a leftover FY2026 line, so confirm with DCSEU.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Amount Shown as electric-to-electric / gas-to-electric. Ducted ASHP or ductless mini-split, ENERGY STAR: $1,000 / $4,000. ENERGY STAR Most Efficient: $1,500 / $5,000. HPWH, NEEA Tier 1–2: $750 / $1,200; Tier 3–4: $1,000 / $1,600. Heat pump dryer $400 / $600. Electric range $400 / $600. Induction range $600 / $800. Heavy-up to 200 A: $2,000. Circuit upgrade or addition: $400 per circuit (up to 3). The page headline is 'up to $5,000 off'.

Who qualifies 'All DC residents, regardless of income', in homes of 4 units or fewer (including individual condo and co-op units). Heavy-up and circuit rebates apply only when replacing gas or oil equipment. Limit one product type per utility account per fiscal year. A DOB permit is required for HVAC and HPWH. Apply within 30 days of installation through the Online Rebate Center.

Appliances and equipment 3 open of 3

Washington Gas Virginia residential rebates

Washington Gas

Open Open. 'Programs remain available in VA.'

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Amount Up to $2,000 on select ENERGY STAR boilers and furnaces; up to $400 on water heaters; up to $2.50/sq ft on eligible windows and sun shades; $100 smart thermostat; $100 heating tune-up; $50 gas fireplace tune-up

Who qualifies Washington Gas Virginia residential customers

Dominion Energy Virginia heat pump water heater rebate

Dominion Energy Virginia

Open

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Amount Up to $500 on eligible heat pump water heaters (and up to $300 on variable-speed pool pumps). Instant rebates on smart thermostats and Marketplace products.

Who qualifies Dominion Energy Virginia residential customers

Washington Gas EmPOWER Maryland rebates (Maryland suburbs)

Washington Gas

Ending soon Ending. 'The Washington Gas EmPOWER Maryland programs will end on December 31, 2026, as required by Maryland House Bill 1532.' Submit applications by December 1. MEA says HB 1532 (2025) 'removes EmPOWER incentives for natural gas'.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Amount Up to $900 on select ENERGY STAR boilers and furnaces; up to $450 on water heaters; $100 heating tune-up; up to $100 on ENERGY STAR dryers; free conservation kit

Who qualifies Washington Gas Maryland residential customers

Income-qualified offers 1 open of 1

Affordable Home Electrification (AHEP), single-family

DCSEU under contract with DC DOEE, using federal DOE Home Energy Rebates funds

Open Open for sign-ups per DCSEU; no waitlist or closure is stated. The program pays for gas-to-electric switching, while DOE Program Notice 26-2 (effective May 29, 2026) bars federal HEEHR rebates for replacing non-electric appliances and gave launched programs three months to conform. Neither DOEE nor DCSEU mentions this, so the federally funded scope may change.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Amount No cost. Covers a ducted or ductless heat pump, heat pump water heater, induction stove, heat pump dryer and thermostat, replacing gas furnaces, boilers, water heaters, dryers and stoves. Gas lines are capped. Households that fully electrify are prioritized.

Who qualifies District homeowners or tenants in homes of 4 units or fewer, plus income-qualified owners of condo and co-op units. Eligibility is by participation in SNAP, TANF, SSI, LIHEAP, Solar for All or WAP, or by income up to $132,900 for a household of 4 ($93,050 for 1). DOEE approves every project, and projects can be cancelled before installation.

Financing 1 open of 1

BeSMART Home Loan (Maryland)

Maryland Department of Housing and Community Development

Open Open ('Application status: Open')

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Amount 6.99% APR, $5,000 to $30,000, terms up to 10 years, unsecured. Up to 25% can go to related health and safety work.

Who qualifies Maryland homeowners with credit score ≥640 and debt-to-income ≤50%. No financing for work already purchased or completed.

Statewide rebate programs and federal options: rebates and programs.

Heat pumps in Washington, DC → What one costs to run against gas here, each heat pump rebate with the equipment rule that decides which models qualify, and the certified systems and brands that suit the climate.

Federal Home Energy Rebates in District of Columbia, Virginia, Maryland and West Virginia

The two federal rebate programs, HOMES (whole-home efficiency) and the high-efficiency electric home rebates (HEAR, renamed HEEHR in 2026), are run by each state, so availability depends on the state. DOE rewrote the rules effective May 29, 2026 (Program Notice 26-2 ↗): no more federal rebates for switching from gas, oil or propane to electric equipment, and insulation and air sealing come before heating and cooling upgrades unless a home already meets a state-set level.

Status for the Washington, DC metro
Open · limits apply DC: launched, low-income only. Federal funds expand two DCSEU programs, AHEP (single-family) and AHRA (multifamily), and 'Federally funded rebates will not be available outside of participation in AHRA or AHEP.' Maryland: not launched. On 9/30/26 MEA resubmitted applications to DOE under the new guidance, and launch depends on DOE approval. Virginia: not launched. Virginia Energy is updating its application to the May 29, 2026 DOE notices and 'cannot provide an estimated date'. Official page ↗ verified October 12, 2026

Program: DC: Affordable Home Electrification Program (AHEP) and Affordable Housing Retrofit Accelerator (AHRA). MD: IRA Home Energy Rebate Programs (HOMES and HEEHR). VA: Home Efficiency Rebates and High Efficiency Appliance Rebates.

Run by: DC: Department of Energy and Environment (DOEE), delivered by DCSEU. MD: Maryland Energy Administration. VA: Virginia Department of Energy.

DC is also implementing the local Healthy Homes and Residential Electrification Amendment Act of 2024, which directs DOEE to provide no-cost electrification retrofits to low-income households and qualifying multifamily buildings, built on its federal rebate applications. Virginia's allocation is $188,334,635 ($94,347,205 Home Efficiency; $93,987,430 High Efficiency Appliance). Its FAQ notes that under federal law the appliance rebates 'cannot be used to help pay for replacement of a non-electric appliance'. That reflects DOE Program Notice 26-2 (effective May 29, 2026), which ended fuel-switching rebates and requires insulation and air sealing first, with three months for launched programs like DC's to conform.

StateHEAR / HEEHR (electric appliances)HOMES (whole-home efficiency)
District of Columbia District of Columbia rebate guide
Open · limits apply open within existing programs (no stand-alone federal rebate; only through DCSEU's Affordable Home Electrification Program and Affordable Housing Retrofit Accelerator) Official page ↗ verified October 12, 2026
Open open within existing programs (AHRA/AHEP), per DOEE Official page ↗ verified October 12, 2026
Virginia Virginia rebate guide
Not open yet not launched (application being updated for DOE's May 29, 2026 Program Notices) Official page ↗ verified October 12, 2026
Not open yet not launched Official page ↗ verified October 12, 2026
Maryland Maryland rebate guide
Not open yet not launched (updated application submitted to DOE Sept. 30, 2026) Official page ↗ verified October 12, 2026
Not open yet not launched (updated application submitted to DOE Sept. 30, 2026) Official page ↗ verified October 12, 2026
West Virginia West Virginia rebate guide
Waitlist pilot phase with select households; waitlist registration open; statewide launch pending Official page ↗ verified October 12, 2026
Waitlist pilot phase with select households; waitlist registration open; statewide launch pending Official page ↗ verified October 12, 2026

How the programs work: Home Energy Rebates explained · every state’s status.

Help for lower-income households

Weatherization Assistance Program (DC)

DC Department of Energy and Environment (DOEE), with nonprofits and contractors

Free energy audit and audit-recommended efficiency and water measures. For households below 60% of State Median Income (FY26: $118,926 for 4) or with a TANF or SSI recipient. DOEE says: 'Our WAP and LRP program openings are delayed this fiscal year due to unexpected external circumstances', and it will contact waitlisted applicants. The Emergency Mechanical Systems (EMS) replacement program is open and contacting its waitlist first-come, first-served. Questions: 202-299-3316.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

DCSEU Zero-Cost Upgrades and Affordable Home Electrification

DC Sustainable Energy Utility

Income-qualifying DC residents can get select DCSEU services free or at reduced cost. AHEP provides no-cost heat pumps and electric appliances for households up to $132,900 (4 people). Call (202) 479-2222.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

EmPOWER Maryland Limited Income Energy Efficiency Program (LIEEP)

Maryland Department of Housing and Community Development

No-charge insulation, hot-water improvements, lighting, furnace tune and safety repairs, and limited health and safety work. For customers of BGE, Delmarva, FirstEnergy, Pepco, SMECO or Washington Gas. Income limit is $106,800 for a household of 4 (updated 07/14/2026). Application status is Open. Call 1-855-583-8976.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Maryland Weatherization Assistance Program (Montgomery and Prince George's)

MD DHCD through local weatherization agencies. For Prince George's and Montgomery: Housing Initiative Partnership (Hyattsville, 301-699-3870) and Building Change (Beltsville, 410-231-3284).

Application status is Open. Income limit is 60% SMI / 200% FPL ($92,470 for a household of 4). SSI, TANF or MEAP recipients are automatically eligible.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Income and Age Qualifying Energy Savings Program (Virginia)

Dominion Energy Virginia, delivered by local weatherization providers that work with Virginia DHCD

No-cost in-home assessment and installed measures. The FAQ lists LEDs, showerheads, aerators and pipe wrap, and weatherization such as attic insulation and duct sealing where eligible. For households ≤80% of local median income or ≤60% of state median income, whichever is greater, or age 60+ at ≤120% of state median income. Call 888-366-8280, option 2.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Local energy rules

None of the 4 rules we found reach ordinary homes.

Not for ordinary homes

DC energy benchmarking

Who it applies to 'All buildings >10,000 ft²'. Single-family homes are not covered.

Annual energy and water reporting through ENERGY STAR Portfolio Manager by May 1. The next third-party verification is due in 2027 (2026 data), then every six years. First-time reporters in 2026 are buildings newly covered at the 10,000 ft² threshold.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Not for ordinary homes

DC Building Energy Performance Standard (BEPS)

Who it applies to Period 1: private buildings ≥50,000 ft². Period 2: ≥25,000 ft². Period 3: ≥10,000 ft². DC-owned buildings ≥10,000 ft² in all periods. Does not affect ordinary homeowners.

Created by the Clean Energy DC Omnibus Act of 2018. Buildings below the standard enter a compliance cycle with performance or prescriptive pathways.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Not for ordinary homes

Montgomery County (MD) benchmarking and BEPS

Who it applies to Most commercial and multifamily buildings of 25,000 gross sq ft or more. Not homeowners.

Benchmark annually by June 1, with verification every 3 years. Site-EUI performance standards have interim and final evaluation years by group, for example 2028/2033 for non-residential 50k–250k sq ft and 2031/2036 for multifamily 25k–250k sq ft.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Not for ordinary homes

Maryland Building Energy Performance Standards (statewide)

Who it applies to Most buildings 35,000 sq ft and larger (with exclusions). Not homeowners.

Per BGE's summary: benchmarking to MDE by September 2025, direct GHG compliance from 2030, net-zero building emissions by 2040, about 9,000 buildings covered. MDE's own BEPS page could not be loaded, so confirm current details there.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Notes worth knowing

  • Maryland's EmPOWER cycle (PSC Case No. 9705) covers 2024–2026, and Pepco says it is 'awaiting a decision by the Maryland Public Service Commission about extending our energy efficiency programs into 2027'.
  • The last Pepco Quick Check-up requests are due November 6, 2026, and Home Performance rebate reservations by December 31, 2026.
  • Separately, Maryland HB 1532 (2025) removes EmPOWER gas incentives, so Washington Gas's Maryland rebates end December 31, 2026.
  • Virginia offers through Washington Gas continue.
  • DC's federally funded electrification program (AHEP) explicitly covers gas-to-electric conversions, which DOE's May 29, 2026 notice no longer allows for federal HEEHR funds; DC sources do not yet address this.
  • DCSEU's locally funded rebates are unaffected because they are not federal money (DOEE).

What our research couldn’t confirm

  • Pepco or Washington Gas efficiency offers specific to DC beyond the referrals to DCSEU.
  • The Dominion assessment price.
  • Virginia county-level utility coverage and any NoVA local rules.
  • West Virginia (Jefferson County).
  • DC's building energy code for new homes.

Washington, DC: common questions

How do I get a home energy audit in Washington, DC?

Start with Online Home Energy Profile (DC, MD, VA gas customers). Run by: Washington Gas. It’s an online tool, not a home visit. Cost: Free. Who qualifies: Washington Gas residential customers. How to book: Online via Washington Gas. Our research lists 5 audit programs for the Washington, DC metro, checked October 12, 2026; all of them are on this page.

Are the federal Home Energy Rebates available in Washington, DC?

DC: launched, low-income only. Federal funds expand two DCSEU programs, AHEP (single-family) and AHRA (multifamily), and 'Federally funded rebates will not be available outside of participation in AHRA or AHEP.' Maryland: not launched. On 9/30/26 MEA resubmitted applications to DOE under the new guidance, and launch depends on DOE approval. Virginia: not launched. Virginia Energy is updating its application to the May 29, 2026 DOE notices and 'cannot provide an estimated date'. Checked October 12, 2026. Nationally, DOE rewrote the rules effective May 29, 2026: federal appliance rebates no longer pay for switching from gas, oil or propane to electric equipment, and homes must get insulation and air sealing before heating and cooling upgrades unless they already meet a state-set level.

Is there help for lower-income households in Washington, DC?

Yes. Programs for income-qualified households in the Washington, DC metro include Weatherization Assistance Program (DC), DCSEU Zero-Cost Upgrades and Affordable Home Electrification, EmPOWER Maryland Limited Income Energy Efficiency Program (LIEEP), Maryland Weatherization Assistance Program (Montgomery and Prince George's) and Income and Age Qualifying Energy Savings Program (Virginia). Each one’s rules and contacts are listed on this page, with a link to its official page.

Which local energy rules affect homeowners in Washington, DC?

No local energy rule in our research applies to ordinary existing homes. 4 rules apply only to larger buildings.

Can I claim a federal tax credit for an energy audit in Washington, DC?

Not for an audit done in 2026. The federal credit of up to $150 for a home energy audit was part of the Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit (25C), and the IRS says it can’t be claimed for audits paid for or done after December 31, 2025. Public Law 119-21 ended 25C and the Residential Clean Energy Credit (25D) for 2026 work. An audit done in 2025 is claimed on the 2025 return (Form 5695).

Sources

Every source below was opened and checked on October 12, 2026.

Planning upgrades in Washington, DC?

Tell us your ZIP code, the kind of home you have and what you’re planning. A person reads every message and replies with the certified auditors and utility programs that serve your area.

A person replies by email. We don’t sell your details or share them with contractors. See our privacy note.