Florida · #8 metro by population

Home energy audits in Miami

Where to get a home energy audit in the Miami area, what it costs, which rebates are open now and where Florida stands on the federal Home Energy Rebates. Every program links to its official page and was checked on October 12, 2026.

Metro area: Miami-Fort Lauderdale-West Palm Beach, FL Metropolitan Statistical Area.

An energy advisor’s kit on a front-hall bench: infrared camera, pressure gauge with tubing, tape measure, headlamp and a floor sketch
Start here Free FPL free Home Energy Analysis (Residential Home Energy Survey) · Visit type not stated
Rebates and incentives open now 5 of 6 1 unconfirmed or not open yet
Federal Home Energy Rebates Not open yet What that means here

Miami at a glance

Climate zone 1A

IECC 2021 climate zone for Miami-Dade County, FL. PNNL ↗

Heating and cooling 104 HDD · 4,656 CDD

Heating and cooling degree days, base 65°F, 1991–2020 normals at MIAMI INTL AP, FL US (USW00012839). NOAA ↗

Homes 1979 median year built

30.8% of occupied homes are owner-occupied. Miami city, Florida, 2020–2024 ACS 5-year. Census ↗

Radon EPA zone 2

moderate potential: predicted average 2–4 pCi/L (Miami-Dade County, FL). EPA says not to use the zone to decide whether to test: high levels turn up in all three zones, so test every home. Radon testing guide · EPA ↗

What energy costs here

State Electricity¢ per kWh · July 2026 Natural gas$ per therm · 2025 average Heating oil$ per gallon · week of Oct 5, 2026 Propane$ per gallon · week of Oct 5, 2026
Florida 15.0¢ $2.46 $25.48 per thousand cu ft Not reported $4.86
  • Electricity: EIA’s average residential price, July 2026 (preliminary; released September 24, 2026). The U.S. average was 18.3¢ per kWh. EIA ↗
  • Natural gas: EIA’s 2025 average residential price per thousand cubic feet, which EIA says includes taxes and delivery, divided by 10.36 therms per thousand cubic feet (EIA’s 2025 average heat content of 1,036 Btu per cubic foot). A full-year average is used because summer months run far higher. EIA ↗
  • Heating oil and propane: EIA’s weekly residential prices, excluding taxes, for the week of October 5, 2026. EIA surveys them only in some states. EIA ↗

Utilities in the Miami area

Utility efficiency programs follow the company that delivers your power or gas, so check your bill before you book anything.

Electric

  • Florida Power & Light (FPL) Florida's largest electric utility: more than 6 million customer accounts (about 12 million people) in 43 counties. FPL's April 2026 Ten-Year Site Plan names Southeastern Florida (Miami-Dade and Broward) as part of its service area. FPL serves most homes in the metro, but no official county-by-county territory map was checked. Source ↗
  • City of Homestead (municipal electric; FMPA member) City-owned utility, 26,520 customers (FMPA). Its programs were not researched. Source ↗
  • City of Lake Worth Beach (municipal electric; FMPA member) City-owned utility, 27,177 customers (FMPA). Its programs were not researched. Source ↗

Natural gas

  • Peoples Gas Statewide gas utility, an Emera company with 500,000+ customers. Its site lists Dade/Broward and Jupiter among its local areas (under 'Appliances and Sales'). Gas is available only at some addresses; check by ZIP code. Source ↗
  • Florida City Gas (FCG) Chesapeake Utilities subsidiary serving nearly 125,000 customers in Miami-Dade, Broward, Brevard, Palm Beach, Hendry, Martin, St. Lucie and Indian River counties. Source ↗

The brief's 'TECO Peoples Gas' now brands itself simply 'Peoples Gas' ('an Emera company'). Two gas utilities overlap in Miami-Dade and Broward. Which one serves a given address was not verified, and many South Florida homes have no gas service.

How to get a home energy audit in Miami

3 programs in our research, open ones first. Prices are as each program publishes them. If you want a full diagnostic audit outside these programs, look for a certified auditor: how to find one and what audits cost.

FPL Energy Manager online Energy Survey

Florida Power & Light

Open open (online tool)
Free Online tool

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Who qualifies
FPL customers with an online account.
What you get
A personalized energy survey with tips, an Energy Dashboard, an Energy Analyzer showing where the home uses energy, and an Energy Simulator. It links to FPL programs and incentives.
How to book
Online at FPL's Energy Manager page. There is no appointment.

FPL free Home Energy Analysis (Residential Home Energy Survey)

Florida Power & Light

Open open (no end date published)
Free Visit type not stated

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Who qualifies
FPL residential customers.
What you get
An analysis by an FPL Energy Expert. FPL's 2025 DSM Plan describes the Home Energy Survey as educating customers and identifying candidates for its rebate programs, for example confirming ceiling-insulation eligibility. FPL's pages do not say whether it is done in person or by phone.
How to book
Call 800-DIAL-FPL (800-342-5375) to schedule, as stated on FPL's ceiling insulation page.

Peoples Gas Online Energy Audit (personalized or simple)

Peoples Gas

Open open (online tool)
Free Online tool

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Who qualifies
The personalized audit is for Peoples Gas customers who log in. The simple audit needs no account.
What you get
The personalized audit gives a report based on your home's actual gas use, plus alerts. The simple audit estimates use from a home profile and local weather. Both point to natural gas appliance options.
How to book
Online at the Peoples Gas Energy Audit page. There is no appointment.

Rebates and incentives now

6 offers in our research for the Miami metro; 5 are open as of October 12, 2026. Many require the program’s own contractor or an audit first, so read the terms before you buy.

Insulation and air sealing 1 open of 1

FPL ceiling insulation instant rebate

Florida Power & Light

Open open (no end date published)

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Amount $220 instant rebate, credited on the contractor's invoice

Who qualifies FPL residential customers whose current ceiling insulation is below R-8. The upgrade must be installed by an FPL PIC, with access to all attic spaces.

Heat pumps 1 open of 1

FPL A/C instant rebate

Florida Power & Light

Open open (no end date published)

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Amount $200 instant rebate, credited on the contractor's invoice

Who qualifies FPL residential customers buying a new A/C system (both indoor and outdoor units) rated SEER2 15.2 or higher, installed by an FPL Participating Independent Contractor (PIC). FPL's page says 'A/C' and does not mention heat pumps separately.

Appliances and equipment 1 open of 2

Peoples Gas residential energy conservation rebates

Peoples Gas (Peoples Gas System, an Emera company)

Open open (no end date published; Peoples Gas may change or end it without notice)

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Amount Replacing electric with natural gas / replacing gas with gas: tank water heater $550 / $350; ENERGY STAR tank water heater $650 / $400; tankless water heater $700 / $550; cooking $300 / $100; clothes drying $300 / $150; gas furnace $725 / $500; gas space conditioning $500 per ton / $150 per ton. The rebate cannot exceed the total cost of equipment, installation, piping and venting.

Who qualifies Peoples Gas residential customers. Equipment must be installed within one year before applying. Used, refurbished or thrift-store appliances, propane conversions, point-of-use tankless units (minimum 5 gpm), fireplaces, fire pits, grills and portable heaters do not qualify. For electric-to-gas conversions the invoice must say 'electric to gas'. CLEAResult may verify the installation by smartphone.

Florida City Gas residential appliance rebates

Florida City Gas

Unconfirmed open; changes pending: Florida PSC docket 20260063-EG would raise several amounts (for example, existing-customer tankless $550 to $600, cooking $100 to $315). PSC staff recommended approval for the 2026-09-10 agenda; the final decision and effective date were not verified.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Amount Switching from non-gas / replacing gas / switching from propane: furnace $725 / $500 / $200; tank water heater (EF 0.81+) $500 / $350 / $100; tankless water heater $675 / $550; range $200 / $100 / $25; dryer $150 / $100 / $50. Extra $200 for reactivating service inactive for 12+ months. FCG also advertises 'limited-time incentives of up to $1,700 for customers located along our gas main'. The generator rebate is 'currently not available'.

Who qualifies FCG residential customers (or new customers) in its service area. See FCG's terms and conditions.

Income-qualified offers 1 open of 1

FPL Residential Low-Income Weatherization

Florida Power & Light (directly, and through state WAP and other approved agencies)

Open open (program standards effective 2025-09-01)

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Amount Measures installed free. FPL reimburses agencies per home, for example: ceiling insulation adding R-10 ($500), weatherstripping/caulking/door sweeps ($90), duct testing and repair ($60), outdoor coil cleaning ($60).

Who qualifies Existing FPL residential customers who meet low-income criteria. Under 'Community Energy Saver', FPL canvasses areas where most incomes are below 200% of the federal poverty level. For agency installs, the agency decides eligibility.

Other incentives 1 open of 1

FPL On Call (residential load management)

Florida Power & Light

Open

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Amount FPL says customers can 'save over $90 a year' by enrolling.

Who qualifies FPL residential customers who let FPL cycle selected appliances during peak demand.

Statewide rebate programs and federal options: rebates and programs.

Heat pumps in Miami → What one costs to run against gas here, each heat pump rebate with the equipment rule that decides which models qualify, and the certified systems and brands that suit the climate.

Federal Home Energy Rebates in Florida

The two federal rebate programs, HOMES (whole-home efficiency) and the high-efficiency electric home rebates (HEAR, renamed HEEHR in 2026), are run by each state, so availability depends on the state. DOE rewrote the rules effective May 29, 2026 (Program Notice 26-2 ↗): no more federal rebates for switching from gas, oil or propane to electric equipment, and insulation and air sealing come before heating and cooling upgrades unless a home already meets a state-set level.

Status for the Miami metro
Not open yet not launched (as of 2026-10-12) Official page ↗ verified October 12, 2026

Program: Florida Energy Saver Program: HOMES (Home Owner Managing Energy Savings) and HEEHR (High-Efficiency Electric Home Rebates, Florida's name for HEAR)

Run by: Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (FDACS), Office of Energy

The state portal says both programs 'are expected to launch in the future' and that 'additional information on the program timeline will be made available soon'. Homeowners can only register and fill in a profile to be emailed when applications open. Florida has about $346 million in federal funding. Planned HEEHR caps: heat pump $8,000; heat pump water heater $1,750; electric stove/cooktop/range/oven or heat pump dryer $840; panel (load service center) $4,000; insulation, air sealing and ventilation $1,600; wiring $2,500; up to $14,000 per household. It covers 100% of project cost under 80% of area median income (AMI) and 50% at 80-150% AMI. Households over 150% AMI are not eligible. Planned single-family HOMES limits (20-34% modeled savings / 35%+): under 80% AMI $16,000 / $20,000 (up to 100% of cost); 80% AMI and above $2,000 / $4,000 (up to 50% of cost). These pages carry a 2025 copyright and predate DOE's May 2026 program notices, so final terms (for example fuel switching under HEEHR) may change. On June 8, 2026 U.S. Rep. Kathy Castor said Florida's funding was approved in January 2025 but has been delayed since.

StateHEAR / HEEHR (electric appliances)HOMES (whole-home efficiency)
Florida Florida rebate guide
Not open yet not launched ('expected to launch in the future'; registration of interest open) Official page ↗ verified October 12, 2026
Not open yet not launched ('expected to launch in the future') Official page ↗ verified October 12, 2026

How the programs work: Home Energy Rebates explained · every state’s status.

Help for lower-income households

Weatherization Assistance Program, Miami-Dade County

Miami-Dade County Community Action and Human Services Department (CAHSD), the local WAP provider under FloridaCommerce

For low-income homeowners in Miami-Dade with household income at or below 200% of federal poverty guidelines (1 person $29,160; 2 $39,440; 3 $49,720; 4 $60,000; +$10,280 for each person over 8). Proof of ownership and 12 months of income proof are required. Measures can include attic insulation, weatherstripping, water-heater and fixture measures, and repair/replacement of doors, windows, refrigerators, water heaters and HVAC. Apply by mail or in person; served 'first come, first serve' and subject to funds. Phone (FloridaCommerce list): (786) 469-4730, (786) 469-4600, (305) 545-2224. The County page's eligibility section was last updated 07/29/2024, and the application is labeled 2023-2024.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Weatherization Assistance Program, Broward and Palm Beach counties

Centro Campesino Farmworker Center, Inc.

Local WAP provider for Broward and Palm Beach: (305) 245-7738, ext. 236. FloridaCommerce says applications are available only by contacting the local provider, not online.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Miami-Dade 'Building Blocks' local Weatherization Assistance Program

Miami-Dade County CAHSD

A county-funded program ($3 million total; about 200-250 households) for Miami-Dade homeowners (primary residence) with income at or below 140% of AMI. Award amounts depend on a home inspection. The fact sheet is undated, so it is unknown whether it is still taking applications.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

FPL Residential Low-Income Weatherization

Florida Power & Light

Free installed measures for income-qualified FPL customers, through FPL neighborhood canvassing (areas where most incomes are under 200% FPL) or WAP/approved agencies.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Florida Energy Saver Program HEEHR (when launched)

FDACS Office of Energy

Planned rebates of up to $14,000 for households under 150% AMI, covering 100% of cost under 80% AMI. Not launched as of 2026-10-12.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Local energy rules

2 of the 4 rules we found reach ordinary homeowners in some way; they’re listed first.

Affects homeowners

Florida Building Energy-Efficiency Rating Act: disclosure at sale (s. 553.996, Florida Statutes)

Who it applies to Every sale of real property with a building on it, including ordinary single-family homes. It affects homeowners who sell or buy.

Before or when the buyer signs the contract, they must be given information telling them they can get an energy-efficiency rating on the building. The information covers how to analyze the rating, comparisons to statewide averages, ways to improve the rating, and a notice that a rating may qualify the buyer for an energy-efficient mortgage. This is a disclosure of information only. No rating or audit is required.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Affects homeowners indirectly

State preemption of local energy-source and appliance restrictions (s. 366.032, Florida Statutes)

Who it applies to Applies statewide and limits local governments. It affects homeowners indirectly.

Counties, cities and other local bodies may not restrict or prohibit the types or fuel sources of energy that utilities and gas suppliers deliver, or appliances (including stoves and grills) that use them. The only exception is enforcing the Florida Building Code or Fire Prevention Code. In practice no Florida city or county can adopt a gas ban or all-electric mandate for homes.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Not for ordinary homes

City of Miami Building Energy and Water Consumption Benchmarking and Retuning Ordinance (Ordinance 14005, 2021; 'Miami BE305')

Who it applies to Large buildings only: properties with buildings over 20,000 sq ft. It explicitly excludes single-family homes, duplexes and residential multifamily buildings of five units or fewer, so it does not affect ordinary homeowners.

Owners report energy and water use each year via ENERGY STAR Portfolio Manager. First deadlines were phased by size (June 30, 2023 for 200,000+ sq ft through Oct. 1, 2025 for 20,000-49,999 sq ft), then June 30 annually. Buildings of 50,000+ sq ft must have base-building systems retuned every five years, with first reports due Dec. 1, 2028 to Dec. 1, 2030 by size. Fines: $250/day for a first offense and $500/day for repeats.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Proposed · not in force

Miami-Dade County Building Performance Ordinance (BE305): proposed

Who it applies to Proposed for buildings of 20,000 sq ft or more. Not single-family homes.

As of the Southeast Florida Climate Compact's February 2025 summary, the County's mandatory benchmarking ordinance 'has not yet been passed by the Board of County Commissioners'. It would phase in benchmarking from 2026 (about 13,500 buildings) and retuning for 50,000+ sq ft buildings. The County's climate-strategy page still lists passing it as an action. Whether it has been adopted since was not verified. BE305 otherwise runs as a voluntary challenge, launched in 2020.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Notes worth knowing

  • Florida utility efficiency programs run under the Florida Energy Efficiency and Conservation Act (FEECA).
  • The PSC approved new 2025-2034 DSM goals in 2024 (FPL docket 20240012-EG).
  • FPL's 2025 DSM Plan residential programs are: Home Energy Survey, On Call, HVAC, Ceiling Insulation, BuildSmart new construction, Low-Income Weatherization, and a Low-Income Renter Pilot.
  • Outdated information on official sites: the City of Fort Lauderdale's 'Financial Assistance for Energy Efficiency Improvements' page still promotes the expired federal tax credits, cites FPL's A/C rebate as $150 (FPL now says $200), and says Florida's IRA rebates were expected to launch in early 2025.
  • Florida City Gas's rebate page still says 'save money on taxes when you buy an ENERGY STAR appliance from now until December 31, 2032'.
  • Financing: Florida law (s. 163.08) authorizes PACE financing for residential energy-efficient HVAC, insulation, water heaters, windows/doors and renewables.
  • Florida City Gas and its sister utility Florida Public Utilities also proposed 'Efficiency First', a free online survey with weatherization and smart-home kits replacing the in-home survey, and 'Efficiency for All', kits installed in low-income multifamily buildings, in PSC docket 20260063-EG. The outcome was not verified.

What our research couldn’t confirm

  • Which PACE programs operate in Miami-Dade, Broward and Palm Beach was not verified.

Miami: common questions

How do I get a home energy audit in Miami?

Start with FPL free Home Energy Analysis (Residential Home Energy Survey). Run by: Florida Power & Light. The program doesn’t say whether it’s done in person or by phone. Cost: Free. Who qualifies: FPL residential customers. How to book: Call 800-DIAL-FPL (800-342-5375) to schedule, as stated on FPL's ceiling insulation page. Our research lists 3 audit programs for the Miami metro, checked October 12, 2026; all of them are on this page.

Are the federal Home Energy Rebates available in Miami?

Not launched (as of 2026-10-12). Checked October 12, 2026. Nationally, DOE rewrote the rules effective May 29, 2026: federal appliance rebates no longer pay for switching from gas, oil or propane to electric equipment, and homes must get insulation and air sealing before heating and cooling upgrades unless they already meet a state-set level.

Is there help for lower-income households in Miami?

Yes. Programs for income-qualified households in the Miami metro include Weatherization Assistance Program, Miami-Dade County, Weatherization Assistance Program, Broward and Palm Beach counties, Miami-Dade 'Building Blocks' local Weatherization Assistance Program, FPL Residential Low-Income Weatherization and Florida Energy Saver Program HEEHR (when launched). Each one’s rules and contacts are listed on this page, with a link to its official page.

Which local energy rules affect homeowners in Miami?

One rule reaches ordinary homeowners. Florida Building Energy-Efficiency Rating Act: disclosure at sale (s. 553.996, Florida Statutes). Who it applies to: Every sale of real property with a building on it, including ordinary single-family homes. It affects homeowners who sell or buy. State preemption of local energy-source and appliance restrictions (s. 366.032, Florida Statutes) affects homeowners only indirectly. One other rule applies only to larger buildings. Proposed, not in force: Miami-Dade County Building Performance Ordinance (BE305): proposed.

Can I claim a federal tax credit for an energy audit in Miami?

Not for an audit done in 2026. The federal credit of up to $150 for a home energy audit was part of the Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit (25C), and the IRS says it can’t be claimed for audits paid for or done after December 31, 2025. Public Law 119-21 ended 25C and the Residential Clean Energy Credit (25D) for 2026 work. An audit done in 2025 is claimed on the 2025 return (Form 5695).

Sources

Every source below was opened and checked on October 12, 2026.

Planning upgrades in Miami?

Tell us your ZIP code, the kind of home you have and what you’re planning. A person reads every message and replies with the certified auditors and utility programs that serve your area.

A person replies by email. We don’t sell your details or share them with contractors. See our privacy note.