Michigan · #14 metro by population

Home energy audits in Detroit

Where to get a home energy audit in the Detroit area, what it costs, which rebates are open now and where Michigan stands on the federal Home Energy Rebates. Every program links to its official page and was checked on October 12, 2026.

Metro area: Detroit-Warren-Dearborn, MI Metropolitan Statistical Area.

A red blower-door panel with a large fan fitted into the front doorway of a brick bungalow, a pressure gauge on a stool inside
Start here Free Consumers Energy Free Home Energy Analysis
Rebates and incentives open now 7 of 7 All the offers in our research are open.
Federal Home Energy Rebates Paused What that means here

Detroit at a glance

Climate zone 5A

IECC 2021 climate zone for Wayne County, MI. PNNL ↗

Heating and cooling 6,067 HDD · 847 CDD

Heating and cooling degree days, base 65°F, 1991–2020 normals at DETROIT METRO AP, MI US (USW00094847). NOAA ↗

Homes 1947 median year built

50.3% of occupied homes are owner-occupied. Detroit city, Michigan, 2020–2024 ACS 5-year. Census ↗

Radon EPA zone 3

low potential: predicted average below 2 pCi/L (Wayne County, MI). EPA says not to use the zone to decide whether to test: high levels turn up in all three zones, so test every home. Radon testing guide · EPA ↗

What energy costs here

State Electricity¢ per kWh · July 2026 Natural gas$ per therm · 2025 average Heating oil$ per gallon · week of Oct 5, 2026 Propane$ per gallon · week of Oct 5, 2026
Michigan 23.1¢ $1.05 $10.92 per thousand cu ft $5.58 $2.34
  • Electricity: EIA’s average residential price, July 2026 (preliminary; released September 24, 2026). The U.S. average was 18.3¢ per kWh. EIA ↗
  • Natural gas: EIA’s 2025 average residential price per thousand cubic feet, which EIA says includes taxes and delivery, divided by 10.36 therms per thousand cubic feet (EIA’s 2025 average heat content of 1,036 Btu per cubic foot). A full-year average is used because summer months run far higher. EIA ↗
  • Heating oil and propane: EIA’s weekly residential prices, excluding taxes, for the week of October 5, 2026. EIA surveys them only in some states. EIA ↗

Utilities in the Detroit area

Utility efficiency programs follow the company that delivers your power or gas, so check your bill before you book anything.

Electric

  • DTE Electric (DTE Energy) '2.3 million customers in southeastern Michigan', including Detroit and most of the metro Source ↗
  • Consumers Energy Michigan's other large combination electric and gas utility. It serves some households in the metro's outer areas; boundaries were not checked county by county. Source ↗

Natural gas

  • DTE Gas (DTE Energy) About 1.4 million natural gas customers in Michigan, including the City of Detroit Source ↗
  • Consumers Energy Natural gas in parts of the metro (not verified county by county; check your bill) Source ↗

Most DTE home rebates require that 'DTE is the primary provider of your home's heat', which in practice means DTE gas or gas/electric combination customers. DTE heat pump rebates are only for electric customers replacing electric heating. A household with DTE electric and Consumers gas should check each utility's rules before assuming it qualifies.

How to get a home energy audit in Detroit

3 programs in our research, open ones first. Prices are as each program publishes them. If you want a full diagnostic audit outside these programs, look for a certified auditor: how to find one and what audits cost.

Consumers Energy Free Home Energy Analysis

Consumers Energy (online scheduling runs through a CLEAResult-hosted store)

Open Listed as available as of 2026-10-12. No dates or funding status are given.
Free

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Who qualifies
Consumers Energy residential customers. The page lists no income or home-type limits, and says apartments and duplexes are served by a separate free assessment.
What you get
A home visit that installs free upgrades (smart thermostat, water-pipe insulation, advanced power strips, efficient bulbs, showerheads and more), plus a report on how the home uses energy. The page doesn't describe diagnostic testing.
How to book
Online via 'Schedule Now' (consumersenergystore.clearesult.com/home-energy-assessment)

DTE Home Energy Assessment (contractor-delivered diagnostic assessment)

DTE Energy, through participating contractors

Open · limits apply Available as of 2026-10-12. Rebates are 'first-come, first-served... program funds are limited.'
Contractor’s price less a $50 rebate

Cost, as published The contractor sets the price; DTE's page does not state one. DTE pays a $50 rebate for the blower-door pre-test, plus $75, $125 or $150 for 10%, 20% or 40% air-leakage reductions measured before and after.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Who qualifies
Homes where 'DTE is the primary provider of your home's heat' (most gas and gas/electric combination customers). Single-family homes and buildings with fewer than five connected units qualify if each has a separate entrance and meter. New homes don't qualify: the home must be more than 24 months old. There is no income test.
What you get
Blower door tests, safety and efficiency testing of heating and cooling equipment, thermal imaging, and energy modeling of recommended improvements. The contractor files the rebate online.
How to book
Find a participating contractor with DTE's Find a Contractor tool, or call (866) 796-0512.

DTE Energy Efficiency Assistance (EEA) home energy assessment (income-qualified)

DTE Energy, through participating community organizations

Open · limits apply Open as of 2026-10-12. Services depend on available funding, which goes to organizations first-come, first-served. DTE's 'Limited Rebates Available' meter showed 88% (electric) and 87% (gas).
Free Income-qualified

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Who qualifies
Household income at or below 250% of the federal poverty guidelines ($39,125 for 1 person; $80,375 for 4; $135,375 for 8, plus $13,750 for each additional person). Enrollment in DTE's Low Income Self-Sufficiency Plan, SNAP, WIC or similar programs also qualifies. The DTE account must be active and in good standing.
What you get
A home energy assessment followed by contractor-installed products at no cost. Depending on the home and account type, these may include weatherization, a heating tune-up or replacement, a high-efficiency water heater, an ENERGY STAR refrigerator and efficient lighting.
How to book
Contact the participating organization for your county (list on the DTE page), or call 866.796.0512.

Rebates and incentives now

7 offers in our research for the Detroit metro; 7 are open as of October 12, 2026. Many require the program’s own contractor or an audit first, so read the terms before you buy.

Whole-home upgrades 1 open of 1

DTE electric-heat comprehensive audit, air sealing and insulation offer (promo code ELECTRIC25)

DTE Energy

Open Listed as available as of 2026-10-12; no end date is stated.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Amount 50% of the cost of a comprehensive energy audit, air sealing and insulation, up to $5,000

Who qualifies DTE electric customers whose primary heat is an air-source heat pump or electric baseboard, in single-family homes built before 2016. A participating contractor submits it with promo code ELECTRIC25. Air sealing must cut infiltration by at least 10%.

Insulation and air sealing 2 open of 2

Consumers Energy insulation, window and HVAC rebates (for Consumers customers in the metro)

Consumers Energy

Open Listed as available as of 2026-10-12. Insulation and window applications must be received by December 31 to get the charted amounts.

Official page ↗ · verified October 19, 2026

Amount Attic insulation $125-$200 for combo or gas customers, $50-$70 for electric-only customers, depending on final R-value. Above-grade wall $125 (combo or gas). Windows $15 each. Patio doors $40. Furnace $300 at 97%+ AFUE, $100 at 95-96.99%. Air-source heat pump $300. Ductless mini-split $350. Ground-source $200-$300. Central AC $150-$300.

Who qualifies Consumers Energy customers. HVAC equipment must be installed by a Consumers Energy participating contractor; insulation and windows can be DIY. Consumers' 2026 qualifying measures sheet limits heat pump rebates to its electric customers: the air-source and ground-source rebates are only for replacing an existing heat pump, and the mini-split rebate is for replacing any primary electric heat system.

DTE insulation rebates plus the 'Do More' bonus

DTE Energy

Open · limits apply Open. Applications are due within 6 months of purchase and no later than December 31, 2026. The Do More bonus covers installs completed September 15-December 15, 2026, with applications by December 18, 2026. Funds are limited; the page meter showed 55% (electric) and 66% (gas).

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Amount Roof and attic $600 (minimum 500 sq ft). Above-grade wall $125 (250 sq ft). Kneewall $25. Rim or band joist $50. Basement wall $50. Crawl space wall $50. Floor $50. A limited-time $250 'Do More' bonus is added when attic insulation is installed together with one more listed measure.

Who qualifies Homes where DTE is the primary heat provider (most DTE gas and gas/electric customers) that are single-family (two or fewer connected units, each separately metered with its own HVAC and water heater) and more than 24 months old. DIY or contractor installs both qualify.

Heat pumps 1 open of 1

DTE heat pump rebates (electric customers replacing electric heat)

DTE Energy

Open · limits apply Available as of 2026-10-12. Funds are limited; the page meter showed 52%.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Amount Cold-climate air-source heat pump: $1,200, $1,000 or $900 by efficiency tier. Standard air-source heat pump: $500 at 18+ SEER2, $150 at 15.2-17.99 SEER2. Ground-source: $800 at 20+ EER2, $600 at 17-19.99 EER2. Ductless mini-split: $1,000 above 31.5 SEER2, $700 at 17-31.5 SEER2.

Who qualifies Only 'electric customers replacing electric heating'. Gas-heated homes switching to a heat pump don't qualify for these DTE rebates. The home must be single-family and more than 24 months old, and a participating contractor files the rebate.

Appliances and equipment 2 open of 2

DTE furnace rebates, fall bonus and tune-ups

DTE Energy

Open Open. The $300 bonus covers installs October 1-December 15, 2026, with applications by December 18, 2026. Tune-up promotional pricing covers work September 1-November 15, 2026, submitted by December 31, 2026. The page meter showed 27% for natural gas customers.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Amount Furnace: $400 at 98% AFUE or more, $200 at 96-97%, $100 at 95%. A limited-time $300 in additional bonuses applies to qualified furnace installs. A tune-up with combustion analysis earns up to $150.

Who qualifies DTE residential natural gas customers in single-family homes more than 24 months old, using a participating contractor. New construction and first-time installs are excluded.

DTE Wi-Fi thermostat, window and water heater offers

DTE Energy

Open Open. Thermostat applications are due within 6 months of purchase and no later than December 31, 2026.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Amount Wi-Fi thermostat $50 (one per household). Windows $15 per unit. An instant discount on ENERGY STAR gas tankless or storage water heaters (0.81 UEF or more) or heat pump water heaters (2.2 UEF or more); the page doesn't state the discount amount.

Who qualifies DTE electric and/or gas residential customers. Windows need DTE gas or gas/electric service with DTE as the primary heat provider.

Financing 1 open of 1

Michigan Saves home energy loans

Michigan Saves (nonprofit green bank) with participating credit unions

Open Open as of 2026-10-12.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Amount Unsecured fixed-rate loans from $1,000 up to $50,000-$100,000 depending on the lender, with rates 'as low as' 6.24%-6.99% and terms up to 180 months. One Detroit Credit Union offers $1,000-$30,000 from 6.75% for up to 120 months in Macomb, Oakland, Washtenaw and Wayne counties.

Who qualifies Michigan homeowners using a Michigan Saves authorized contractor. Rates and approval depend on the lender and on credit.

Statewide rebate programs and federal options: rebates and programs.

Heat pumps in Detroit → What one costs to run against gas here, each heat pump rebate with the equipment rule that decides which models qualify, and the certified systems and brands that suit the climate.

Federal Home Energy Rebates in Michigan

The two federal rebate programs, HOMES (whole-home efficiency) and the high-efficiency electric home rebates (HEAR, renamed HEEHR in 2026), are run by each state, so availability depends on the state. DOE rewrote the rules effective May 29, 2026 (Program Notice 26-2 ↗): no more federal rebates for switching from gas, oil or propane to electric equipment, and insulation and air sealing come before heating and cooling upgrades unless a home already meets a state-set level.

Status for the Detroit metro
Paused paused for metro Detroit. New income-qualified MiHER applications are 'temporarily unavailable' in the EGLE Detroit, Warren and Lansing districts (Lansing includes Lapeer and Livingston), and also in the Grand Rapids and Kalamazoo districts. Elsewhere, applications are open to low- and moderate-income households only. Official page ↗ verified October 19, 2026

Program: Michigan Home Energy Rebates (MiHER): HOMES (IRA Section 50121) and HEAR (Section 50122)

Run by: Michigan Department of Environment, Great Lakes, and Energy (EGLE). The call center (855-510-7080, MiEnergyRebates@CLEAResult.com) is run by CLEAResult.

MiHER has launched statewide but is closed to new applicants across metro Detroit. EGLE says applications are 'currently open to low- to moderate-income households only'. New income-qualified applications are paused by EGLE district: Detroit (Wayne County), Warren (Macomb, Oakland, St. Clair and Wayne) and Lansing (including Lapeer and Livingston), so every county in the Detroit MSA is paused. The Grand Rapids and Kalamazoo districts are paused too. The pauses began in May (Detroit), August (Warren) and September 2026 (Lansing), but EGLE's page no longer shows those dates. 'Applications in these districts will reopen when the program determines that sufficient capacity and funding are available.' Applications submitted before a pause are still reviewed. Rebates: households below 80% AMI get up to 100% of qualified project cost; 80-150% AMI get up to 50%. HEAR is limited to households at or below 150% AMI. Michigan received $105.7 million for HOMES and $105.3 million for HEAR. The Detroit district's allocation is $26,138,495.59 and Warren's is $18,931,747.69. Work must be done by a MiHER Registered Contractor.

StateHEAR / HEEHR (electric appliances)HOMES (whole-home efficiency)
Michigan Michigan rebate guide
Partly open open for low- and moderate-income households statewide except districts where new income-qualified applications are paused (Detroit since May 2026; Warren Aug. 2026; Grand Rapids, Kalamazoo and Lansing Sept. 2026); HEAR-specific terms after DOE's 2026 guidance not stated Official page ↗ verified October 12, 2026
Open open for low- and moderate-income households, with the same district pauses for new income-qualified applications Official page ↗ verified October 12, 2026

How the programs work: Home Energy Rebates explained · every state’s status.

Help for lower-income households

Weatherization Assistance Program (WAP)

Michigan Department of Health and Human Services (MDHHS), through local Community Action Agencies

Free energy conservation and health and safety work: a home energy audit, air sealing, attic, wall and foundation insulation, a programmable thermostat, furnace or water heater tune-up or replacement, and refrigerator replacement. Homeowners and renters who meet income guidelines qualify if the home hasn't had WAP in the last 15 years. Local providers on MDHHS's operator map: Wayne County (including Detroit), Wayne Metro CAA, (313) 388-9799; apply through Wayne Metro's Universal Application at gateway.waynemetro.org/cp. Oakland and Livingston, Oakland Livingston Human Service Agency, (248) 209-2760. Macomb, Macomb Community Action, (586) 469-6329. St. Clair, Blue Water Community Action, (810) 455-6454. Lapeer, Human Development Commission, (989) 673-4121.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

DTE Energy Efficiency Assistance (EEA)

DTE Energy with participating organizations

Free assessment and installed upgrades for DTE customers at or below 250% of the federal poverty guidelines, or enrolled in LSP, SNAP, WIC and similar programs. Services depend on funding and the equipment in the home.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

MiHER enhanced rebates (below 80% AMI)

Michigan EGLE

Up to 100% of qualified project cost for households below 80% AMI. New applications in all metro Detroit counties are paused (Detroit district since May 2026, Warren since August 2026, Lansing since September 2026).

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Local energy rules

None of the 0 rules we found reach ordinary homes.

Notes worth knowing

  • The state IRA rebates (MiHER) have launched but are paused for new applicants in every Detroit-metro county.
  • DTE's furnace, insulation and tune-up promotions end December 15-31, 2026, and some DTE fund meters were low (furnace page showed 27% for gas).
  • DTE doesn't explain whether these meters show funds remaining or used.
  • DTE heat pump rebates are only for homes replacing electric heat; gas-heated DTE homes get no DTE heat pump rebate.
  • No home energy disclosure, benchmarking or building performance rule for Detroit or the metro could be verified.

Detroit: common questions

How do I get a home energy audit in Detroit?

Start with Consumers Energy Free Home Energy Analysis. Run by: Consumers Energy (online scheduling runs through a CLEAResult-hosted store). Cost: Free ('it's free with no hidden costs'). Who qualifies: Consumers Energy residential customers. The page lists no income or home-type limits, and says apartments and duplexes are served by a separate free assessment. How to book: Online via 'Schedule Now' (consumersenergystore.clearesult.com/home-energy-assessment). Our research lists 3 audit programs for the Detroit metro, checked October 12, 2026; all of them are on this page.

Are the federal Home Energy Rebates available in Detroit?

Paused for metro Detroit. New income-qualified MiHER applications are 'temporarily unavailable' in the EGLE Detroit, Warren and Lansing districts (Lansing includes Lapeer and Livingston), and also in the Grand Rapids and Kalamazoo districts. Elsewhere, applications are open to low- and moderate-income households only. Checked October 19, 2026. Nationally, DOE rewrote the rules effective May 29, 2026: federal appliance rebates no longer pay for switching from gas, oil or propane to electric equipment, and homes must get insulation and air sealing before heating and cooling upgrades unless they already meet a state-set level.

Is there help for lower-income households in Detroit?

Yes. Programs for income-qualified households in the Detroit metro include Weatherization Assistance Program (WAP), DTE Energy Efficiency Assistance (EEA) and MiHER enhanced rebates (below 80% AMI). Each one’s rules and contacts are listed on this page, with a link to its official page.

Which local energy rules affect homeowners in Detroit?

No local energy rule in our research applies to ordinary existing homes.

Can I claim a federal tax credit for an energy audit in Detroit?

Not for an audit done in 2026. The federal credit of up to $150 for a home energy audit was part of the Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit (25C), and the IRS says it can’t be claimed for audits paid for or done after December 31, 2025. Public Law 119-21 ended 25C and the Residential Clean Energy Credit (25D) for 2026 work. An audit done in 2025 is claimed on the 2025 return (Form 5695).

Sources

Every source below was opened and checked on October 12, 2026.

Planning upgrades in Detroit?

Tell us your ZIP code, the kind of home you have and what you’re planning. A person reads every message and replies with the certified auditors and utility programs that serve your area.

A person replies by email. We don’t sell your details or share them with contractors. See our privacy note.