Georgia · #6 metro by population

Home energy audits in Atlanta

Where to get a home energy audit in the Atlanta area, what it costs, which rebates are open now and where Georgia stands on the federal Home Energy Rebates. Every program links to its official page and was checked on October 12, 2026.

Metro area: Atlanta-Sandy Springs-Roswell, GA Metropolitan Statistical Area.

An energy advisor’s kit on a front-hall bench: infrared camera, pressure gauge with tubing, tape measure, headlamp and a floor sketch
Start here Free Georgia Power Free In-Home Energy Audit
Rebates and incentives open now 9 of 10 1 unconfirmed or not open yet
Federal Home Energy Rebates Partly open What that means here

Atlanta at a glance

Climate zone 3A

IECC 2021 climate zone for Fulton County, GA. PNNL ↗

Heating and cooling 2,531 HDD · 2,051 CDD

Heating and cooling degree days, base 65°F, 1991–2020 normals at ATLANTA HARTSFIELD INTL AP, GA US (USW00013874). NOAA ↗

Homes 1989 median year built

46.4% of occupied homes are owner-occupied. Atlanta city, Georgia, 2020–2024 ACS 5-year. Census ↗

Radon EPA zone 1

highest potential: predicted average indoor level above 4 pCi/L (Fulton County, GA). EPA says not to use the zone to decide whether to test: high levels turn up in all three zones, so test every home. Radon testing guide · EPA ↗

What energy costs here

State Electricity¢ per kWh · July 2026 Natural gas$ per therm · 2025 average Heating oil$ per gallon · week of Oct 5, 2026 Propane$ per gallon · week of Oct 5, 2026
Georgia 16.3¢ $1.97 $20.42 per thousand cu ft Not reported $3.08
  • Electricity: EIA’s average residential price, July 2026 (preliminary; released September 24, 2026). The U.S. average was 18.3¢ per kWh. EIA ↗
  • Natural gas: EIA’s 2025 average residential price per thousand cubic feet, which EIA says includes taxes and delivery, divided by 10.36 therms per thousand cubic feet (EIA’s 2025 average heat content of 1,036 Btu per cubic foot). A full-year average is used because summer months run far higher. EIA ↗
  • Heating oil and propane: EIA’s weekly residential prices, excluding taxes, for the week of October 5, 2026. EIA surveys them only in some states. EIA ↗

Utilities in the Atlanta area

Utility efficiency programs follow the company that delivers your power or gas, so check your bill before you book anything.

Electric

  • Georgia Power Investor-owned utility fully regulated by the Georgia PSC, with about 2.7 million customers in 155 of Georgia's 159 counties. All Georgia Power programs below are for its own customers only. Source ↗
  • Electric membership corporations (EMCs), for example Jackson EMC Georgia has 41 EMCs (PSC). Jackson EMC, for example, serves 10 counties including Gwinnett, its largest county by meters (135,868). EMC customers cannot use Georgia Power programs. EMC programs were not researched. Source ↗
  • Municipal electric systems Georgia has 52 municipally owned electric systems over which the PSC has limited authority. Individual metro-Atlanta city systems were not researched. Source ↗

Natural gas

  • Atlanta Gas Light (AGL) Delivery-only gas utility. Its own words: 'we don't sell natural gas to customers'. It operates the pipes that deliver gas to customers of certified marketers, about 1.8 million customers in Georgia (the same About page also says 1.6 million). AGL runs the gas rebate programs. Source ↗
  • PSC-certified natural gas marketers (15) They sell the gas and bill AGL-system customers: Axpo U.S., Colonial Energy, Constellation, Fuel Georgia, Gas South, Georgia Natural Gas, Mansfield Power & Gas, NextEra Energy Service Georgia, NRG Business Marketing, SCANA Energy, Stream Energy, Town Square Energy, True Natural Gas, Walton EMC Natural Gas, Xoom Energy. Source ↗

Georgia's gas market was restructured under a 1997 law, so homeowners on AGL's system must choose a certified marketer to buy gas from. AGL delivers it and to establish service AGL tells you to 'contact a marketer'. AGL's rebates require an active account in good standing with a Georgia certified marketer. SCANA Energy is the PSC-approved Regulated Provider for low-income consumers and for customers who cannot get service from another marketer. Community Action Agencies handle qualification. No energy-efficiency rebates run by the marketers themselves were found, but the marketers were not checked one by one.

How to get a home energy audit in Atlanta

4 programs in our research, open ones first. Prices are as each program publishes them. If you want a full diagnostic audit outside these programs, look for a certified auditor: how to find one and what audits cost.

Georgia Power Online Home Energy Checkup

Georgia Power

Open open (online tool)
Free Online tool

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Who qualifies
Georgia Power residential customers (online tool).
What you get
An online analysis of your home's efficiency.
How to book
Start online at https://customerservice2.southerncompany.com/OnlineEnergyCheckup (linked from Georgia Power's Home Solutions page).

Home Energy Assessment rebate (Georgia Power Home Energy Improvement Program)

Georgia Power HEIP; the assessment is done by an HEIP Program Installer

Open open (current terms effective 2026-08-01, valid through 2028-12-31; rebates capped at $2,500 per customer per year)
Contractor’s price less 50% (up to $150)

Cost, as published The contractor sets the price. Georgia Power rebates 50% of the cost up to $150, one assessment per calendar year.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Who qualifies
Georgia Power residential customers.
What you get
A home energy assessment by a Program Installer, valid for one year. A test-in assessment is required before rebated dense-pack or spray-foam insulation and air sealing.
How to book
Find a Program Installer through Georgia Power's HEIP contractor search, then apply for the rebate within 60 days at georgiapowerrebates.com/residential.

Georgia Home Efficiency Rebates (HER) energy assessment

Georgia Environmental Finance Authority (GEFA), through program-approved contractors

Open open (no pause notice on the HER pages as of 2026-10-12)
Not published

Cost, as published Not stated. GEFA tells homeowners to 'ask your contractor about any potential assessment fees, first.'

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Who qualifies
Georgia residents (primary home), owners or renters with landlord authorization, who are pursuing an HER project.
What you get
A contractor energy assessment and a project scope that models whole-home energy savings, which sets your HER rebate tier.
How to book
Use the program's contractor directory at energyrebates.georgia.gov/find-approved-contractor and track the application in the Neighborly portal. Contact center: 877-348-5237 (Mon-Fri 9-6 ET).

Georgia Power Free In-Home Energy Audit

Georgia Power, delivered by Utility Energy Services (UES)

Open · limits apply open (availability limited; no end date published)
Free

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Who qualifies
Eligible Georgia Power residential customers. Availability is limited, and customers who had an in-home audit or similar assessment in the past 12 months may not be eligible.
What you get
A UES Energy Advisor walks through the home (insulation, heating and cooling, water heating, major appliances, ductwork) and gives personalized recommendations. Select energy-saving products may be installed free 'when available and appropriate'.
How to book
Schedule online through Georgia Power's UES scheduler (https://utility-energyservices.my.site.com/s/GPClipboardAuditScheduler) or call UES at 877-310-5607, option 3 (Mon-Fri 8 a.m.-7 p.m. ET). Visits are booked in four-hour windows, and an adult 18 or older must be home.

Rebates and incentives now

10 offers in our research for the Atlanta metro; 9 are open as of October 12, 2026. Many require the program’s own contractor or an audit first, so read the terms before you buy.

Whole-home upgrades 1 open of 1

Georgia Home Efficiency Rebates (HER, Georgia's HOMES program)

GEFA (federally funded by U.S. DOE)

Open open (GEFA reported more than $50 million issued as of 2026-08-12; no pause notice)

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Amount Under 80% AMI: up to 98% of cost, max $10,000 (20-34% modeled savings) or $16,000 (35%+ savings). 80% AMI and above: up to 50%, max $2,000 (20-34%) or $4,000 (35%+).

Who qualifies Households whose primary home is in Georgia. Owners show a property tax record or insurance document, and renters need a Landlord Authorization Form. The tier depends on income vs. county AMI; a SNAP, Medicaid or LIHEAP benefit letter can establish eligibility. A program-approved contractor is required, with no DIY path.

Insulation and air sealing 3 open of 3

Georgia Power HEIP: Home Comfort Bundle (attic insulation + air sealing + duct repair and sealing)

Georgia Power

Open open (current terms effective 2026-08-01, valid through 2028-12-31; rebates capped at $2,500 per customer per year)

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Amount 50% of cost, up to $1,700 (electric-heated home) or $1,400 (gas-heated). Two-measure Home Comfort Duo (air sealing + insulation): up to $1,000 electric / $800 gas.

Who qualifies Georgia Power residential customers. A Program Installer is required, existing attic insulation must be below R-19, and most ducts must be in unconditioned space.

Georgia Power HEIP: attic insulation

Georgia Power

Open open (current terms effective 2026-08-01, valid through 2028-12-31; rebates capped at $2,500 per customer per year)

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Amount 50% of cost, up to $300 (electric-heated home) or $200 (gas-heated)

Who qualifies Existing attic insulation must be below R-19. Add R-49 or more across the whole attic. Self-install is allowed for non-air-sealing insulation types. Radiant barriers don't qualify.

Georgia Power HEIP: air sealing and duct repair/sealing

Georgia Power

Open open (current terms effective 2026-08-01, valid through 2028-12-31; rebates capped at $2,500 per customer per year)

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Amount Air sealing: 50% up to $400 (electric) / $300 (gas). Duct repair and sealing: 50% up to $600 (electric) / $500 (gas).

Who qualifies Air sealing needs a Program Installer, test-in/test-out and at least a 20% CFM50 reduction. Duct sealing needs at least a 30% CFM25 reduction by a Program Installer or DET verifier. Homes with combustion appliances must pass combustion safety testing.

Heat pumps 1 open of 1

Georgia Power HEIP: furnace conversion to air-source heat pump

Georgia Power

Open open (current terms effective 2026-08-01, valid through 2028-12-31; rebates capped at $2,500 per customer per year)

Official page ↗ · verified October 19, 2026

Amount 50% of cost, up to $1,500 (ground-source heat pump conversion: 50% up to $300), per the 2026 requirements PDF. Georgia Power's HEIP web page shows these as 'Up to $1,500' and 'Up to $300' without mentioning the 50% limit. The web page also lists 'Ductless Mini Split Heat Pump - Combined: Up to $500' and 'Combination Heat Pump Water/Space Heating: Up to $500'. Neither is in the 2026 PDF, so their terms could not be confirmed.

Who qualifies Georgia Power residential customers replacing an electric furnace. A licensed HVAC installer is required, the system must be AHRI-listed, and the installer must attest that it replaced an electric furnace.

Appliances and equipment 3 open of 3

Georgia Power HEIP: heat pump water heater

Georgia Power

Open open (current terms effective 2026-08-01, valid through 2028-12-31; rebates capped at $2,500 per customer per year)

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Amount 50% of cost, up to $800

Who qualifies ENERGY STAR certified unit, installed by a licensed plumber, a Program Installer, or the homeowner. No rebate if a midstream incentive was already received for the same unit.

Georgia Power HEIP: smart thermostat (Georgia Power Marketplace)

Georgia Power

Open open (current terms effective 2026-08-01, valid through 2028-12-31; rebates capped at $2,500 per customer per year)

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Amount 50% of cost, up to $150 (up to two per account per year)

Who qualifies Georgia Power residential customers with a ducted central heating and air system. Buy through georgiapowermarketplace.com. Self-install or use an installer.

Atlanta Gas Light energy efficiency rebates (gas furnace and water heater)

Atlanta Gas Light

Open · limits apply open (program runs 2026-01-01 to 2026-12-31; 'valid while funds are available')

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Amount Furnace: $300 (92-94.9% AFUE) or $400 (95%+ AFUE). Water heater: $200 (tank, UEF 0.82+, or condensing tank, TE 0.90+); $300 (tankless, UEF 0.87+).

Who qualifies You must have an active account in good standing with a Georgia certified marketer in AGL territory and be replacing existing natural gas equipment in an existing home (not new construction), installed by a licensed Georgia contractor. Limits: two furnace rebates and one water heater rebate per address per 10 years. Dual-fuel systems are excluded. Claim online within 45 days of installation.

Income-qualified offers 0 open of 1

Georgia Home Electrification and Appliance Rebates (HEAR)

GEFA

Paused paused (not accepting new applications since 2026-08-14; GEFA says it will reopen in October 2026 with limited funding and limited measures; program-update webinar on 2026-10-14)

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Amount Not published

Who qualifies Low- and moderate-income households. When HEAR reopens, single-family applicants can get rebates only for electrical wiring and panel upgrades, and only together with an eligible HER project. HEAR will not reopen for multifamily.

Other incentives 1 open of 1

Atlanta Gas Light conversion rebates (switching electric or propane appliances to natural gas)

Atlanta Gas Light

Open open (program runs 2026-01-01 to 2026-12-31)

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Amount Tank water heater $400; tankless $500; furnace $1,000 (new customer, electric to gas) or $500 (existing customer, electric to gas, or propane to gas); dryer $200. Cap: $3,000 per residential address per year.

Who qualifies Active account with a certified marketer in AGL territory. The new-customer furnace rebate requires no gas at the premise in the past 36 months. Dual-fuel systems and new construction are excluded. Claim within 45 days.

Statewide rebate programs and federal options: rebates and programs.

Heat pumps in Atlanta → What one costs to run against gas here, each heat pump rebate with the equipment rule that decides which models qualify, and the certified systems and brands that suit the climate.

Federal Home Energy Rebates in Georgia

The two federal rebate programs, HOMES (whole-home efficiency) and the high-efficiency electric home rebates (HEAR, renamed HEEHR in 2026), are run by each state, so availability depends on the state. DOE rewrote the rules effective May 29, 2026 (Program Notice 26-2 ↗): no more federal rebates for switching from gas, oil or propane to electric equipment, and insulation and air sealing come before heating and cooling upgrades unless a home already meets a state-set level.

Status for the Atlanta metro
Partly open partly open: HER (HOMES) open; HEAR paused since 2026-08-14, with a limited reopening announced for October 2026 Official page ↗ verified October 12, 2026

Program: Georgia's Home Energy Rebates: Home Efficiency Rebates (HER, Georgia's name for federal HOMES) and Home Electrification and Appliance Rebates (HEAR)

Run by: Georgia Environmental Finance Authority (GEFA), funded by U.S. DOE

The program fully launched in spring 2025. GEFA reported on Aug. 12, 2026 that more than $50 million had been issued to more than 3,500 households, with an average rebate of $12,104 and estimated savings of $1,407 a year. HER (open): under 80% AMI up to 98% of cost, max $10,000 (20-34% modeled savings) or $16,000 (35%+); 80% AMI and up, up to 50%, max $2,000 or $4,000. A program-approved contractor is required. HEAR has been paused since Aug. 14, 2026. GEFA says it will reopen in October 2026 with limited funding, for single-family homes only and only for electrical wiring and panel upgrades alongside an HER project. There is no multifamily pathway. Program-update webinar: Oct. 14, 2026. Contact center: 877-348-5237.

StateHEAR / HEEHR (electric appliances)HOMES (whole-home efficiency)
Georgia Georgia rebate guide
Paused paused — not accepting new applications; reopening October 2026 with limited measures (single-family only) Official page ↗ verified October 12, 2026
Open Official page ↗ verified October 12, 2026

How the programs work: Home Energy Rebates explained · every state’s status.

Help for lower-income households

Weatherization Assistance Program (WAP), metro Atlanta providers

GEFA (state administrator) through local Community Action Agencies

Free whole-house weatherization for households at or below 200% of the federal poverty level. Priority goes to elderly people, people with disabilities and families with children. An energy auditor visits first. Measures can include air and duct sealing, wall/floor/attic insulation, HVAC improvements, water-heater work and water-saving devices. Some counties have waiting lists. Providers by county: Tallatoona Community Action Partnership (Cobb, Fulton, Bartow, Paulding, Haralson); Area Committee to Improve Opportunities Now (ACTION) (DeKalb, Gwinnett, Rockdale, Newton, Walton, Barrow, Morgan); Clayton County Community Services Authority (Clayton, Fayette, Henry); Community Action for Improvement (Carroll, Coweta, Douglas, Heard, Meriwether); Ninth District Opportunity (Dawson, Forsyth, Lumpkin); North Georgia Community Action (Cherokee, Pickens); Middle Georgia Community Action Agency (Butts, Pike, Spalding); Overview Inc. (Jasper).

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Georgia Power EASE (Energy Assistance for Savings and Efficiency)

Georgia Power

Free energy-saving improvements installed by a program contractor, up to $5,000 in total value: duct sealing, HVAC service, insulation, smart thermostat, water-saving devices, air purifiers and power strips. It does not cover windows or doors. Household income must be at or below 300% of federal poverty guidelines (2026: $47,880 for 1 person, $64,920 for 2, $81,960 for 3, $99,000 for 4). Renters need landlord consent. Health and safety problems must be fixed first. Apply at gpcresidentialease.customerapplication.com or call 1-877-310-5607.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Georgia Power EASE for Seniors

Georgia Power

Completely free efficiency upgrades (duct sealing, HVAC service, insulation, smart thermostat, water-saving devices) for customers aged 60 or older who own and live in the home, with household income at or below 200% of federal poverty guidelines. Renters are not eligible.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Georgia Power EASE for Manufactured Homes

Georgia Power with Utility Energy Services (UES)

Free direct-installed items (advanced power strips, faucet aerators, low-flow showerheads, smart thermostats) for Georgia Power customers in prefab or mobile homes, owners or renters. Book through UES.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Georgia HER for households under 80% AMI

GEFA

Up to 98% of project cost (max $10,000 or $16,000 depending on modeled savings) through a program-approved contractor. Categorical eligibility via SNAP, Medicaid or LIHEAP benefit letters.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

SCANA Energy, Regulated Provider (natural gas supply)

SCANA Energy, designated by the Georgia PSC

This is gas supply and billing help, not an efficiency program. The PSC approved SCANA Energy to serve low-income consumers and customers who cannot get gas service from another marketer, with qualification through Community Action Agencies.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Local energy rules

None of the 1 rule we found reaches ordinary homes.

Not for ordinary homes

City of Atlanta Commercial Buildings Energy Efficiency Ordinance (Ordinance 15-O-1101, 2015)

Who it applies to Large buildings only: private commercial and multifamily buildings of 25,000 sq ft or more, and city-owned buildings of 10,000 sq ft or more (phased in 2015-2017). It does not apply to single-family homes or ordinary homeowners.

Owners must benchmark energy use every year in ENERGY STAR Portfolio Manager and report it to the City. Data is published, except for buildings scoring under 55. An energy audit comparable to ASHRAE Level II is required every 10 years (IMT lists commercial 50,000+ sq ft and multifamily/public 25,000+ sq ft for audits), with exemptions for high performers. Penalty: warning, then a $1,000 fine, plus $1,000 for each additional year of non-compliance.

Official page ↗ · verified October 12, 2026

Notes worth knowing

  • Georgia Power HEIP amounts are taken from the 2026 'Precondition and Improvement Requirements' PDF (rebates effective Aug. 1, 2026, valid through Dec. 31, 2028; capped at $2,500 per customer per year).
  • The HEIP web page shows older or inconsistent figures, for example a 'Home Comfort Trio' up to $1,850 and a 'Basic Comfort Duo' up to $1,150, and attic insulation at $300 in one table and $200 in another.
  • The PDF separates electric-heated and gas-heated homes, which explains some of the differences.
  • The precondition for attic insulation also differs: the web page says existing insulation must be 'at or below R-38', while the Aug. 1, 2026 PDF says 'less than R-19'.
  • Georgia's HER offers up to 98% of cost (not 100%) for under-80%-AMI households, and its caps ($10,000/$16,000) are higher than the base federal HOMES amounts.

What our research couldn’t confirm

  • Most of the metro outside Georgia Power territory is served by EMCs and city utilities whose programs were not researched.
  • Gas marketers' own offers and EMC programs are not covered here.
  • No Georgia state rule requiring home energy audits or energy disclosure at sale was found, but this was not exhaustively searched.

Atlanta: common questions

How do I get a home energy audit in Atlanta?

Start with Georgia Power Free In-Home Energy Audit. Run by: Georgia Power, delivered by Utility Energy Services (UES). Cost: Free. Who qualifies: Eligible Georgia Power residential customers. Availability is limited, and customers who had an in-home audit or similar assessment in the past 12 months may not be eligible. How to book: Schedule online through Georgia Power's UES scheduler (https://utility-energyservices.my.site.com/s/GPClipboardAuditScheduler) or call UES at 877-310-5607, option 3 (Mon-Fri 8 a.m.-7 p.m. ET). Visits are booked in four-hour windows, and an adult 18 or older must be home. Our research lists 4 audit programs for the Atlanta metro, checked October 12, 2026; all of them are on this page.

Are the federal Home Energy Rebates available in Atlanta?

Partly open: HER (HOMES) open; HEAR paused since 2026-08-14, with a limited reopening announced for October 2026. Checked October 12, 2026. Nationally, DOE rewrote the rules effective May 29, 2026: federal appliance rebates no longer pay for switching from gas, oil or propane to electric equipment, and homes must get insulation and air sealing before heating and cooling upgrades unless they already meet a state-set level.

Is there help for lower-income households in Atlanta?

Yes. Programs for income-qualified households in the Atlanta metro include Weatherization Assistance Program (WAP), metro Atlanta providers, Georgia Power EASE (Energy Assistance for Savings and Efficiency), Georgia Power EASE for Seniors, Georgia Power EASE for Manufactured Homes, Georgia HER for households under 80% AMI and SCANA Energy, Regulated Provider (natural gas supply). Each one’s rules and contacts are listed on this page, with a link to its official page.

Which local energy rules affect homeowners in Atlanta?

No local energy rule in our research applies to ordinary existing homes. One rule applies only to larger buildings.

Can I claim a federal tax credit for an energy audit in Atlanta?

Not for an audit done in 2026. The federal credit of up to $150 for a home energy audit was part of the Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit (25C), and the IRS says it can’t be claimed for audits paid for or done after December 31, 2025. Public Law 119-21 ended 25C and the Residential Clean Energy Credit (25D) for 2026 work. An audit done in 2025 is claimed on the 2025 return (Form 5695).

Sources

Every source below was opened and checked on October 12, 2026.

Planning upgrades in Atlanta?

Tell us your ZIP code, the kind of home you have and what you’re planning. A person reads every message and replies with the certified auditors and utility programs that serve your area.

A person replies by email. We don’t sell your details or share them with contractors. See our privacy note.