Saskatchewan · rules and data checked October 8, 2026
Home health check for Regina
In Health Canada's 2012 survey, 25.5% of 94 homes tested in the Regina Qu'Appelle Regional Health Authority region were above the 200 Bq/m³ radon guideline; the 2024 Cross-Canada survey found 46.6% (1 in 2) of houses at or above 200 Bq/m³ for Regina, SK. Regina's January averages −14.7 °C (ECCC), with about 102 nights a year below −10 °C, when CMHC advises keeping indoor humidity near 30% to stop window condensation. Saskatchewan requires carbon monoxide alarms in existing houses.
Radon, 2012 survey
25.5%
above 200 Bq/m³ (94 homes)
Radon, 2024 survey
46.6%
Regina, SK
January average
−14.7 °C
102 nights a year below −10 °C
Private wells
Rare
in Regina
Home health check for Regina
Four quick checks, set up with Regina's winter temperatures and Saskatchewan's alarm rules. Change any value; nothing you enter leaves your browser.
Regina at a glance
| Survey | Result |
|---|---|
| Health Canada, 2012Regina Qu'Appelle Regional Health Authority, 94 homes, long-term tests | 25.5% above 200 Bq/m³; 4.2% above 600 |
| Cross-Canada survey, 2024Regina, SK (Regina CMA) | 46.6% (1 in 2) of houses at or above 200 Bq/m³; unweighted geometric mean 182.7 Bq/m³ (report: insufficient information to apply weighting); approx. 750-999 properties with data. |
The 2024 survey pools long-term tests that households volunteered, so it is not a random sample, and more tests were in basements than in 2012. Health Canada's guideline: fix a home above 200 Bq/m³ within a year. Test kits cost about $30–$80 including the lab; mitigation about $2,000–$3,000.
| Window | At −14.7 °C | At −32.4 °C |
|---|---|---|
| Single glazing with a storm windowU 2.9 | 44% | 29% |
| Double glazing, clear (1970s–1990s)U 2.86 | 45% | 29% |
| Double glazing, low-e and argon (2000s)U 1.8 | 61% | 47% |
| ENERGY STAR (U 1.22 or better)U 1.22 | 72% | 60% |
| Triple glazingU 1.4 | 68% | 56% |
Centre of the glass, from the National Building Code's indoor air film and the Magnus dew point formula. January average from ECCC normals; the cold-snap column is NRCan's winter design temperature. Window edges fog sooner, so follow CMHC: about 30% humidity below −10 °C, which Regina sees on about 102 nights a year.
Smoke alarms in Saskatchewan
Since 2022-07-01 smoke and CO alarms are required in all residential buildings regardless of age. In homes, smoke alarms go on each floor level (on the sleeping level, between the bedrooms and the rest of the floor) and inside each sleeping room. Alarms may be hardwired with battery backup, or battery-only with a 10-year tamper-resistant battery. New alarm locations must use sealed 10-year-battery alarms. Expired hardwired, interconnected alarms must be replaced with hardwired, interconnected alarms with battery backup. Alarms go at the manufacturer's recommended height, or on or near the ceiling.
Existing homes must have them: Yes · Every storey: Yes · In each bedroom: Yes · Interconnected: Only when replacing alarms that were hardwired and interconnected
Law: The Construction Codes Act; The Building Code Regulations (retroactive alarm amendments effective 2022-07-01; Henry's Law amendments in force 2026-11-01 concern CO alarms)
Carbon monoxide alarms in Saskatchewan
Saskatchewan's Building Code Regulations require CO alarms and smoke alarms (or combination units) in all residential buildings, regardless of when they were built. Enforcement began 2022-07-01. In homes, CO alarms go inside each sleeping room or within 5 m outside each sleeping-room door, plus in any room with a solid-fuel-burning appliance. 'Henry's Law', The Building Code (Henry Losco) Amendment Regulations, 2026, was introduced 2026-05-05 and comes into force 2026-11-01. It requires a CO alarm in every residential suite, including apartments, condos and houses with secondary suites, regardless of when the building was built or last renovated. It replaces the earlier practice of requiring alarms only in suites sharing a wall, floor or ceiling with a garage or service room.
Well water in Regina
Regina homes are served by the City's municipal water system, so private wells are rare.
- Bacteria: Annually (total coliforms) together with nitrate ($23.00 total coliforms + E. coli; $29.00 'Water Potability' (bacteria + nitrate))
- Chemistry: Nitrate annually; general chemistry interval not stated ($104.00 general chemical/water quality analysis; $92.50 Health & Toxicity panel; nitrate alone $11.50)
Radon help in Saskatchewan
New homes: Yes. Saskatchewan adopted the NBC 2020 (effective Jan 1, 2024) under The Construction Codes Act. NBC Sentence 9.13.4.2.(2) requires dwelling units to have a rough-in for subfloor depressurization (Article 9.13.4.3), plus an air-barrier soil-gas barrier.
Test kits: Lung Saskatchewan sells long-term alpha-track kits for $65, including return shipping and lab analysis. It also supports free radon-monitor lending at eight libraries and library regions, including Regina Public Library and Saskatoon Public Library.
Other help: The Saskatchewan Home Renovation Tax Credit was re-introduced for 2025 and later tax years (10.5% on up to $4,000 of eligible expenses, or $5,000 for seniors), and Lung Saskatchewan lists radon mitigation as eligible. Lung Saskatchewan says its Caring Breaths radon-mitigation assistance returns in 2026 (applications not yet open when checked).
Find a C-NRPP certified measurement or mitigation professional at c-nrpp.ca. Data checked October 8, 2026.
Common questions in Regina
How common is radon in Regina?
Health Canada's 2012 survey found 25.5% of 94 homes tested in the Regina Qu'Appelle Regional Health Authority region at or above 200 Bq/m³. The 2024 Cross-Canada survey, which pools tests that households volunteered, reports 46.6% (1 in 2) of houses at or above 200 Bq/m³ for Regina, SK. Neighbouring houses can differ a lot, so the only way to know is a long-term test of at least 3 months, ideally in the heating season.
What indoor humidity should I keep in winter in Regina?
Health Canada and CMHC advise 30% to 50%, and CMHC says to keep it at about 30% when it is below −10 °C outside (as low as 25% in extreme cold). Regina averages 102 nights a year below −10 °C. At the January average of −14.7 °C, clear double-glazed windows start to fog at about 45% humidity at the centre of the glass, and at about 29% in a cold snap of −32.4 °C; the edges fog sooner.
How many smoke alarms does a house need in Saskatchewan?
Since 2022-07-01 smoke and CO alarms are required in all residential buildings regardless of age. In homes, smoke alarms go on each floor level (on the sleeping level, between the bedrooms and the rest of the floor) and inside each sleeping room. Alarms may be hardwired with battery backup, or battery-only with a 10-year tamper-resistant battery. New alarm locations must use sealed 10-year-battery alarms. Expired hardwired, interconnected alarms must be replaced with hardwired, interconnected alarms with battery ba New homes built to the National Building Code need hardwired, interconnected alarms on every storey and in every bedroom, which is the standard we recommend for full coverage.
Are carbon monoxide alarms required in Saskatchewan?
Saskatchewan's Building Code Regulations require CO alarms and smoke alarms (or combination units) in all residential buildings, regardless of when they were built. Enforcement began 2022-07-01. In homes, CO alarms go inside each sleeping room or within 5 m outside each sleeping-room door, plus in any room with a solid-fuel-burning appliance. 'Henry's Law', The Building Code (Henry Losco) Amendment Regulations, 2026, was introduced 2026-05-05 and comes into force 2026-11-01. It requires a CO alarm in every residential suite, including apartments, condos
How often should I test my well water in Saskatchewan?
Bacteria: Annually (total coliforms) together with nitrate. Chemistry: Nitrate annually; general chemistry interval not stated. Bacteria test cost: $23.00 total coliforms + E. coli; $29.00 'Water Potability' (bacteria + nitrate). Regina homes are served by the City's municipal water system, so private wells are rare.
How we calculate this
Radon
1 pCi/L = 37 Bq/m³ (Health Canada). The Canadian guideline is 200 Bq/m³; above it Health Canada recommends fixing your home within 1 year, sooner the higher the level. Only a long-term test (at least 3 months, ideally in the heating season) tells you your annual average.
Window condensation
glass temperature = indoor − U × (indoor − outdoor) ÷ 8.33 8.33 W/m²·°C is the indoor air film from the National Building Code (RSI 0.12). The dew point comes from the Magnus formula the US National Weather Service publishes; condensation forms when the glass is colder than the dew point. These are centre-of-glass figures: the bottom edge and metal frames run colder, which is why we show CMHC's simpler rule beside them (30% indoor humidity when it is below −10 °C outside, as low as 25% in extreme cold).
Smoke and CO alarms
“Required by law” applies your province's fire code to the layout you enter. “Recommended” is the new-home standard in the National Building Code (an alarm on every storey, in every bedroom and outside sleeping areas) and NRCan's CO advice (one near the furnace or other fuel-burning appliance and one in each bedroom area). Municipal by-laws can add to provincial rules.
Well water and mould
Testing frequencies and lab fees are the ones your province publishes. Mould size categories are Health Canada's and CMHC's: up to three patches each under 1 m² can be cleaned by a healthy homeowner; more than 3 m² needs a professional.
More for Regina
Sources
- Health Canada, Government of Canada radon guideline (modified 2025-09-24) ↗
- Health Canada, Guide for radon measurements in residential dwellings (37 Bq/m³ = 1 pCi/L) ↗
- Health Canada, Testing your home for radon (3-month test) ↗
- Health Canada, Radon Reduction Guide for Canadians (2023): $2,000–$3,000 systems ↗
- Health Canada, Radon: Is it in your home? Information for health professionals (lifetime risk table) ↗
- Health Canada, Cross-Canada Survey of Radon Concentrations in Homes, final report (2012), Table 5 ↗
- Evict Radon National Study, 2024 Cross-Canada Survey of Radon Exposure (report v1.1) ↗
- Take Action on Radon, Reducing radon (national average about $2,700) ↗
- Windsor-Essex County Health Unit, radon test kits (about $50; $30–$80) ↗
- Health Canada, Reduce humidity, moisture and mould (30% to 50% RH) ↗
- CMHC, Mould in Housing information kit (30% RH below −10 °C; 25% in extreme cold) ↗
- CMHC, How to clean mould in your home ↗
- NRC Canadian Building Digest CBD-4, Condensation on inside window surfaces (1960) ↗
- NRC Canadian Building Digest CBD-36, Temperature gradients through building envelopes (1962) ↗
- US National Weather Service, relative humidity and dewpoint formula sheet (Magnus) ↗
- National Building Code of Canada 2020 (climate zones, Section 9.36 minimum insulation, smoke alarms 9.10.19) ↗
- NRCan, Condensation on windows (modified 2025-01-16) ↗
- National Building Code of Canada 2020, Subsection 9.10.19 smoke alarms (new homes) ↗
- National Fire Code of Canada 2020, Article 2.1.3.3 smoke alarms ↗
- NRCan, Keeping the Heat In, Section 2 (CO detectors: one near the furnace or appliance and one in each bedroom area) ↗
- Environment and Climate Change Canada, Canadian Climate Normals 1981–2010 (MSC GeoMet API) ↗
- NRCan, HOT2000 Climate Map: heating degree-days and design temperatures for 403 locations ↗
- Saskatchewan smoke alarm rule: The Construction Codes Act; The Building Code Regulations (retroactive alarm amendments effective 2022-07-01; Henry's La ↗
- Saskatchewan carbon monoxide alarm rule ↗
- Saskatchewan well-water testing guidance ↗
- Saskatchewan well-water testing guidance ↗
Home health check for other cities
British Columbia
Manitoba
Ontario
Quebec
New Brunswick
Nova Scotia
Prince Edward Island
Newfoundland and Labrador
Yukon
Northwest Territories
Want real numbers for your house in Regina?
An EnerGuide evaluation measures your house and replaces every assumption on this page. Tell us your postal code and we'll connect you with a registered energy advisor for your area.